585,922 active members*
3,617 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Epoxy Granite enhanced LMS SX2 CNC mill

Epoxy Granite enhanced LMS SX2 CNC mill

Im nearly done converting my SX2 to CNC, thanks to many of the members here. I would like to try my hand at tackling one of the major issues with these smaller machines, rigidity and vibration damping. Im thrilled that epoxy granite is being used for this, i work with epoxy and other plastics and rubbers and know how to make it do what I want.
    I started by planning to fill the column and base with EG, but have now toyed with the idea of enclosing the column as well. One big L-shaped EG covered frame when done.

One thing I may do is toy with the aggregate formula a bit, I have some ideas...

Back when I was a drilling fluids engineer we used powdered calcium carbonate to prevent our expensive drilling fluids from seeping into fractures in the rock we were drilling through. CC was used because it is exceptionally non-compressible and rigid. It can be purchased as fine as flour. Another interesting mineral is Barium Sulfate. Its extremely heavy and dense(4.2 times as heavy as water) and also available in extremely fine grades.

Of course plain old sand and decomposed granite will be used as well, maybe some of those zeoshperes too.

The moulds are the easy part. MDF coated with RTV silicone will do the trick. Epoxy HATES silicone in that it refuses to bond with it and will bead up like water on its surface.

I need some advice on how to make absolutely sure the column is square and perfect before locking it in place with EG. Once thats done we'lldo the whole project here on this thread. If you have any questions about working with epoxy and what it can and cant do, please ask

Lock the column in place with EG? I wouldn't recommend it.