584,829 active members*
4,879 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

CNC Laser Cutting - Edges not square ??

hi all

i'm still learning how to use my CNC laser cutter,

i'm trying to cut 9mm MDF is cuts thru the material really well but for some reason the edges of the cut aren't square they seem to be angled ..

can anyone tell me why this is and is it possible to fix ?

thanks

Justin and Kasey

If the edges aren't straight (90 degree) then it is highly possible that the laser power isn't strong enough to cut the material decently. So what to do? Raise the laser power and/or drop the cutting speed. Off course if you cut too slow, there's a chance that your material will ignite or at least the edges will get charred, which you wouldn't want. So be sure that you have a strong enough air assist. Experiment with the laser power and cutting speed. I don't know the power of your laser tube, but in some cases your laser tube might not be strong enough to cut the material you want. Cutting 9mm MDF isn't the easiest job for a mid power CO2 laser. The reality and what the laser salesman promised you might differ drastically. Could you please tell me your machines brand, model and specifications?

Then there's the second possibility: Your laser tube or mirrors might not have been aligned correctly, so the laser beam might hit the cut material at an angle. Check your tubes, mirrors and alignment.

Lastly, be sure to clean your machines lens and mirrors regularly (once a week generally) with alcohol and cotton sticks or whatever the manufacturer recommends. Cutting MDF will pollute the lens and mirrors quite fast.

Quote Originally Posted by [B
    Could you please tell me your machines brand, model and specifications? [/B]

Then there's the second possibility: Your laser tube or mirrors might not have been aligned correctly, so the laser beam might hit the cut material at an angle. Check your tubes, mirrors and alignment.