584,841 active members*
4,329 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Tips On acquiring, Cutting and Engraving Acrylic

I have ordered a G Weike laser (LC1612 w/ 2 lasers 1 = 150w, 1 = 60w)... it is on the boat and should be arriving soon.

I have no experience at all with laser cutting. (I do have CNC plasma).

In anticipation of receiving my laser, I am thinking of what I will want to cut and engrave.

I have two areas of main interest at present... Acrylic (cut and engrave) ... and Granite (engrave).

My Brother in Law has a granite shop, and lot's of scrap granite... so I will have plenty of test material for that.

I would like some advice on Acrylic... What is the best place to order online for acrylic (lowest price?)?

Are there any special considerations that I should consider when ordering Acrylic for cutting or engraving (aside from dimensions of course)... example: are there different types... if so what are advantages of one over the other?

I am also very interested to hear what others are cutting / engraving

First of all congratulations on your new machine. The power selections are quite accurate for cutting and engraving on acrylic and the worktable size is good too. (Maybe the working area could have been a little larger. My lasers have the same powers as yours.) I'm not familiar with ordering acrylic online since it's not a common practice for such material in Turkey. My advice is to request a sample of the product you are going to buy. Cut it on the laser and see the result yourself. Don't buy in large quantities thinking you've got a bargain unless you made sure it suits your needs.

Rule number one: Buy cast acrylic, it's definitely better than extruded acrylic. For cutting it won't matter that much, but for engraving you definitely want cast acrylic. Don't forget that extruded acrylic becomes much more brittle after laser cutting and it's problematic to glue. Off course there's a way to mend it, but it's too time consuming.