585,768 active members*
4,109 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Wolfgang TB-650 Spindle?

Hey guys. Newbie here to CNC.

Im building the FLA100 Machine, already processed my own 80/20 and steel rails, with of course, the guidance of experienced machinists. Its been great fun.

One of the things I'm pondering/can use some guidance on is the spindle. Big topic i know. Im a poor college student doing what i can with what i've got. Id love to be able to cut woods, guitar bodys/necks, the usual. Bigger not so detailed pieces....some friends want speaker boxes..pistol grips, rifle stocks ... Acrylic would be fun for cases. Aluminum would be fantastic. Possible gears, control plates...

I've seen many things on the chinese VFD driven spindles. Watercooling doesn't scare me, i still have my system from my old Dual Athlon K7 server i watercooled using a 71' Boneville heater core lol. Getting a 220V line run to the garage isnt an issue...

But then i stumbled upon the wolfgang engineering spindle, Spindles the TB-650. I like the fact its 12v, up to 25,000 RPM....made here in america...It says wood and metals are just fine...but is that for what i'd like to do? Any experiences/input? i mainly see this thing posted in PCB milling due to its accuracy. Would it be a decent candidate for what i'd like to do? Also is it only locked to 1/8"? What about a PWM controller/current limiter to adjust the speed?

Or am i just better off building a mount for some of the big ole Craftsman routers/Dremels i have laying around?

...or, Wolfgang spindle for the fine stuff, clunky router for the bigger stuff?

Thanks in advance guys. I figured I'd ask the experienced ones here before i drop more cash into this project.

I did not have much luck with my wolfgang spindle. Do a search on this forum and you will see a number of post from people that have bought his spindles.
    Been quite some time but if I remember correctly mine lasted less than 10 hours before the bearings went bad.