585,753 active members*
4,041 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > Techno CNC > Need help with old DOS gcode program setup

Need help with old DOS gcode program setup

I'm a high school teacher trying to get our engineering lab in shape for summer training. We recently acquired an older Techno router with the ISA controller card and the DOS "gcode" program. It all seems to work well except the scale factor is off. It is set to 10160 when I think it should be set to 20320. When I move the machine, it appears to move only about half as much as it should, and it always seems to think it is twice as far as it actually is. The problem is when I change the scale factor and press OK, the DOS program crashes. I'm not sure what to do about this.

Also, I would like to know how to properly set a work offset. Is there any sort of "use current position as work offset" command rather than manually entering the offset.

Any help is appreciated. Perhaps someone has a link to download the last release of the DOS gcode program? The one I have is copyright 1994.

Thanks in advance for the help. The students are anxious to put this thing to use, and so far they love the DOS interface (yes, we have some great kids).

I do have one of these. It was bought new in 1998 that was always used running
    the Mastercam interface until a couple of years ago. IIRC somebody on this forum or Techno sent me a copy of the software. The only time I experience crashing is when trying to run in windows.

Quote Originally Posted by slowlearner View Post
    I do have one of these. It was bought new in 1998 that was always used running
    the Mastercam interface until a couple of years ago. IIRC somebody on this forum or Techno sent me a copy of the software. The only time I experience crashing is when trying to run in windows.