584,833 active members*
5,612 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

Two Stroke Engine Design

I was wondering if anyone on here has any experience designing two-stroke engines? More specifically the cylinder/port configurations. I'm a university student doing a motorcycle and engine design degree and will be starting to design a 500cc two stroke single cylinder engine for my final year project. If there is anyone in the industry or has taken on this type of project I would like to learn about the design steps taken from start to finish as designing a good performing two-stroke is a bit more complicated than a four stroke. My main concern is getting the port configuration right and being able to predict the outcomes of the configurations before they are made. With so many variables to account for anything beyond a 1D gas dynamics model gets complicated pretty quickly. CFD could certainly be used to look at flow characteristics and possibly the scavenging efficiency if a CFD program with a moving mesh was utilized. Thanks for reading and I look forward to hearing from anyone with insightful information.

Look for the sub-fourm further down the list called IC engines. Plenty of info to browse through on two-stroke engines, and if you have questions you should ask them there.

Mark

There is a great software simulation program called Engmod2t that is really good at predicting all you need.

Gary

Quote Originally Posted by HPbyGD View Post
    There is a great software simulation program called Engmod2t that is really good at predicting all you need.

Gary
    Thanks for the info. EngMod looks a step up from the TSR software that I have. Do you have first hand experience using EngMod and would you care to elaborate on it. I've checked out the website but wouldn't mind hearing your experiences with it if you've used it.