585,733 active members*
4,968 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    313

    Question Some Mach3 VB help? Post..

    Just wondering if someone could help me by pointing me in the proper direction.
    I am wondering how to write a post program for Mach3, is this done the same way Mach3 is configured, by using an XML file?
    Basicly what I want to do is write a small program in VB 2010 that communicates with Mach3, nothing too special.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated, and thanks in advance for your help and your time.

    Rob
    What is a cnc , what is cnc 3D Printer rapid prototyping

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    Can you explain in a little more detail what exactly you want to do?

    A post is typically used in a CAM program to format g-code for a particular machine. Mach3 is not a CAM program.

    While it is possible for a program to communicate with Mach3, there's virtually no documentation on how to do it.

    If I know what you're trying to do, maybe I can give you some more information.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    313
    I always figured Mach3 was a Computer Aided Manufacturing program opposed to a Drafting, CAD program.
    I am trying to use a VB 2010 program to jog a single stepper motor.

    Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    No, Mach3 is a machine controller.
    You can't jog a motor through Mach3 via a VB program.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    313
    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    No, Mach3 is a machine controller.
    You can't jog a motor through Mach3 via a VB program.
    Alright i'll bite, what is thge difference between a Machine Controller and a Computer Aided Manufacturing program?

    Also wondering why I can't use a VB program to send a signal threw one of the COM pins, is there really no API fpr Mach3?

    Is EMC a Machine Controller and not a CAM program?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    313
    Ok so how about this as a question isntead...
    Rather than using a DB25 or COM port I would like to use a USB port, so I have an Atmega based Micro with a FTDI chip, how to I use it with Mach3 opposed to a DB25 or COM style breakout board? The drivers will remain the same given they are not a contributing factor here.
    I have seen Pokeys and they use a USB Micro, the question is How?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    Quote Originally Posted by crob09 View Post
    Alright i'll bite, what is thge difference between a Machine Controller and a Computer Aided Manufacturing program?
    A CAM program creates g-code from CAD models or drawings.
    A machine controller reads the g-code, and controls the machine according to the g-code from the CAM program.


    Is EMC a Machine Controller and not a CAM program?
    No, it's also a machine controller.

    Also wondering why I can't use a VB program to send a signal threw one of the COM pins, is there really no API fpr Mach3?
    No, there is no API.

    Ok so how about this as a question isntead...
    Rather than using a DB25 or COM port I would like to use a USB port, so I have an Atmega based Micro with a FTDI chip, how to I use it with Mach3 opposed to a DB25 or COM style breakout board? The drivers will remain the same given they are not a contributing factor here.
    I have seen Pokeys and they use a USB Micro, the question is How?
    You'd need to write a plugin. There's a plugin SDK, and I think on the Machsupport forum there's a plugin wizard or something like that.
    MachPluginWizard v1.1 BETA Release
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    313

    Smile

    Thanks for clearing that up!
    I will look into writing a plugin.
    You certainly directed me down the proper path!

    So what is a good example of a CAM software?

    Thanks,

    Rob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    So what is a good example of a CAM software?
    Most have the word CAM in their names. There ar probably hundreds of different ones.

    MasterCAM
    AlphaCAM
    SheetCAM
    MeshCAM
    RhinoCAM
    MadCAM
    Visual Mill
    OneCNC

    and many, many others.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    313

    Talking

    Thanks!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    If you want to move a stepper motor with VB than check out CNCDuDeZ.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    313

    Cool

    Hi,

    Any direction on writing my own plugin?
    Is it an XML thing?

    Thanks,

    Rob

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3757
    Follow the link in post #7, and Main Page - MachCustomizeWiki
    It's a 'c' thing.
    Plugin Documentation - MachCustomizeWiki
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    313
    Quote Originally Posted by neilw20 View Post
    Follow the link in post #7, and Main Page - MachCustomizeWiki
    It's a 'c' thing.
    Plugin Documentation - MachCustomizeWiki
    Thank you!

Similar Threads

  1. NX5 post for Mach3
    By erkiwi in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 11:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •