585,712 active members*
4,146 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hello....Im a newb!

Well after reading a ton of info on this site, I figured it was time to be a member here! Makes searching a little easier.

Im building a machine for my boss who builds guitars as a hobby and also is funding my experiment on building the mill. I currently design with Solidworks 2011 and I have been racking my brain on figuring out a secure, stable linear rail setup. Being that we are keeping the costs down on the first build I have been looking into angle iron and v-bearings. I have seen some other great and innovative setups people are using but I want to know if this setup is going to be a great starter.

I have also seen skate bearings used on square and round tubing before but in my eyes (correct me if Im wrong) it doesn't look near as stable as a v-bearing on angle iron.

Can you guys send me some links/pictures/info etc so that I can see what is working for you? And as always I will definitely be posting photos of the build and the design done up in solidworks.

Thank you guys in advance! Im excited to be part of this site....although it may cost me my job if I spend too much time viewing it!

Just my 2 cents, the products from cncrouterparts.com are top notch and makes for a great economical setup. To add they have top notch support.
    Thank You.

I'd agree with Drools. If I were using someone elses $$$,
    I'd want something with a much closer guarantee of success than
    trying to DIY from complete scratch.

DIY can get expensive and very time consuming before ya know it...

John

Im looking at the carriages that are on the site. They do look like they are pretty sturdy. Anyone have experience with these?

I would say there are atleast a dozen builds of the CNCRP machines here on the zone and even more where people use the parts with their own designs.
    Thank You.

Quote Originally Posted by skubajon View Post