509,797 active members
4,276 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    21

    G71 stock removal cycle

    I am running a Citizen A20 with a Fanuc control and am trying to get a G71 stock removal cycle to work and am having trouble with it. The part has a radius on the end which transitions into a 8.5 degree taper and then into a .75 degree taper in a Z.528 long segment. I am not clear how to use the G71 but this is what I tried with the information I had.

    (ROUGH FIRST SEGMENT)
    G0 X.5 Z-.03
    G71 U.04 R.02
    G71 P1000 Q1010 U.003 W0 S1=#102 F#112 T02
    N1000 G0 G41 X-.05
    G1 Z0
    X0
    G2 X.0561 Z.0237 R.0278
    G1 X.1226 Z.2463
    X.12998 Z.52800
    N1010 G40 X.5
    T0

    I am getting an alarm on the second G71 line that says, "PS0325 UNAVAILABLE COMMAND IS IN SHAPE PROGRAM " . I put a parenthesis around the G71 line to test the numbers and it ran just fine but I want the stock removal cycle so it doesnt take it all in one pass.

    Does anyone have any suggestions for me or see something wrong with my code?

    Jason

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    0
    I've never used a Citizen machine before, but I've used Fanuc controllers on several different brands of machines. The first thing that looks out of place to me is the first G71 line. I've never seen that used in a G71 cycle. Also, the "S1=#102" looks odd to me. I'm not sure what the S1 represents. The G71 should have an address that represents the depth of cut per pass, which I've always known to be "D". And I don't believe the "=" is allowed. If "S1" is supposed to represent your depth of cut, I would suggest the format below. But like I said, I have no experience with Citizen machines. Hope this helps

    (ROUGH FIRST SEGMENT)
    G0 X.5 Z-.03
    G71 U.04 R.02
    G71 P1000 Q1010 U.003 W0 D#102 F#112 T02
    N1000 G0 G41 X-.05
    G1 Z0
    X0
    G2 X.0561 Z.0237 R.0278
    G1 X.1226 Z.2463
    X.12998 Z.52800
    N1010 G40 X.5
    T0

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    21
    Thanks for trying to help. The first G71 line sets the depth of cut with the U.040. The S1=#102 defines the spindle RPM for spindle one. This is unique to the Citizen Swiss machines.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    48
    Try to command the special spindle commands and T-codes just before the G71 canned cycle. Also try giving it a specific feedrate and not a macro variable.

    Here's the format that works for me:

    G71 U.187
    G71 P101 Q102 U.01 W.004 F.018
    N101 G0 X7.6726
    G1 Z-.1837 F.012
    X7.8526 Z-.2737
    G3 X7.88 Z-.3068 R.0468
    N102G1 Z-2.45
    Let us know what you come up with

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    966
    Never used a Swiss machine, but have used a few different Fanuc controls. I know for a fact that an OT control will not accept a 3 digit variable number for the F code in a G71. I have a little macro program that allows me to run any size material with one program. The feed output is #116. What I do is make #1=#116 just before the G71 call and use F#1 to get around that problem.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1227
    Quote Originally Posted by jmichaud1 View Post
    I am running a Citizen A20 with a Fanuc control and am trying to get a G71 stock removal cycle to work and am having trouble with it. The part has a radius on the end which transitions into a 8.5 degree taper and then into a .75 degree taper in a Z.528 long segment. I am not clear how to use the G71 but this is what I tried with the information I had.

    (ROUGH FIRST SEGMENT)
    G0 X.5 Z-.03
    G71 U.04 R.02
    G71 P1000 Q1010 U.003 W0 S1=#102 F#112 T02
    N1000 G0 G41 X-.05
    G1 Z0
    X0
    G2 X.0561 Z.0237 R.0278
    G1 X.1226 Z.2463
    X.12998 Z.52800
    N1010 G40 X.5
    T0

    I am getting an alarm on the second G71 line that says, "PS0325 UNAVAILABLE COMMAND IS IN SHAPE PROGRAM " . I put a parenthesis around the G71 line to test the numbers and it ran just fine but I want the stock removal cycle so it doesnt take it all in one pass.

    Does anyone have any suggestions for me or see something wrong with my code?

    Jason
    Hi Jason,
    Although this Thread has a bit of age about it, but did you find a resolve for your problem? If not, I suspect that the "S1=" is the issue.

    Unless S1 itself is a Variable created by the MTB, then I believe the syntax should be S1#102

    Although S and T arguments can be included in the G76 block, its much more common practice to call the Tool and Spindle Speed prior to the G71 cycle being launched. Accordingly, I'd do as suggested by "rpm3000", and specify these two addresses before calling the roughing cycle.

    If you did find a resolve, it may be of interest to others with the same type of machine to know the answer.

    Regards,

    Bill

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1

    Re: G71 stock removal cycle

    hi sir
    we get alaram stock removal in G71 PS0325UNAVAILABLE COMMAND IN SHAPE PROGRAM
    G71U1.R1.
    G71P10Q20U.3W.2F.25
    N10GOX77
    G1G42X78..F.15
    Z0.02
    X80.W-1.F0.05
    Z120.F.2
    X128.
    X130.W-1.F0.05
    X140
    N20G0G40U2.Z2.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    966

    Re: G71 stock removal cycle

    Quote Originally Posted by Ram123 View Post
    hi sir
    we get alaram stock removal in G71 PS0325UNAVAILABLE COMMAND IN SHAPE PROGRAM
    G71U1.R1.
    G71P10Q20U.3W.2F.25
    N10GOX77
    G1G42X78..F.15
    Z0.02
    X80.W-1.F0.05
    Z120.F.2
    X128.
    X130.W-1.F0.05
    X140
    N20G0G40U2.Z2.
    I see 2 problems as posted. Block N10 has the letter O instead of number 0. X78 has 2 decimal points after it. I've never used G41/G42 so I don't know if there is a problem with that. I assume you have used G71 cycles on this lathe before. If not, maybe it takes a 1-block instead of a 2-block call. How old is the lathe? All newer ones I've ever programmed all use the 2-block call.

Similar Threads

  1. G71 stock removal cycle
    By jmichaud1 in forum CNC Swiss Screw Machines
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-24-2012, 04:51 AM
  2. G71 for Stock Removal
    By stuby in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 11:53 AM
  3. Type II G71 Stock Removal on Fanuc 0i-TB
    By lowehardware in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 05-06-2008, 02:50 AM
  4. fast stock removal on steel
    By dynamotive in forum General Metalwork Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 04:02 AM
  5. Fanuc 0T Stock Removal Cycles
    By M@T in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-02-2003, 01:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •