585,735 active members*
4,821 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Typical Depth of Cuts for steel

Hi everyone,
    I'm pretty new to machining. I bought my Taig DSLS 3000 in March and have only used it for aluminum and wood so far. I would like to start cutting some mild steel and work my way into alloy steels like 4140 and I am wondering what people are generally taking for a depth of cut? If anyone out there can suggest a safe depth of cut of for 1/8" & 1/4" endmills I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you!

Depends on feed rate, rpms, cutter diameter, material cutter is made of,
    and what you're cutting. HSS cutters make sense for newbies.
    Carbide is expensive and breaks but not if you know what you are doing.
    There is a formula and a chart for different materials. This is not a table saw!
    Find and use the formula! The formula is only an approximation - a starting point.
    Machining is not all science despite all the math and formulas. Be one with the machine.
    You should have a copy of the machinists handbook and/or a text on machining.
    Older machinist handbooks are cheaper and usually just as useful. EBAY!
    Recently there has been a short form of the machinists handbook - it's fine.
    SAFETY GLASSES & NO LONG SLEEVED LOOSE CLOTHING!
    When in doubt, start with shallow cut say .005 NOT .250, start with slow feed.
    Use a scrap piece of stock. make a pass. use cutting oil. Use a step over of
    about 25% at first. Avoid cutting at the full width of the cutter.
    If it doesn't sound/feel horrible try increasing DOC to .010 on the next pass.
    then .015 and so on. Repeat until the machine protests!
    You should recognize when the machine is protesting then back off.
    You should learn when you are feeding too fast or too slow.
    You need to learn what sounds and feels good.
    You need to learn to read the cut.
    It would be very good experience to do this for a range of cutters and materials.