510,079 active members
3,006 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123
Results 1 to 12 of 34
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    35

    Smoothstepper for CNC?

    Hi Everyone,

    I'm wondering how the smooth stepper would function on a larger table design as I've heard about them being installed a lot in mills, and if I get a smooth stepper, will I still need a PMDX? Will it slow down the imp on the machine, or does it speed it up?

    Sorry it's a newbie question, but I've emailed the company, and not heard back yet.

    Thanks,
    Chris

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    590
    If you have questions about the SmoothStepper I recommend that you contact Jeff Birt at Soigeneris. He's very responsive and knowledgeable regarding the products he sells. I have a USB SS and have been very happy with it and have not had any problems with it. If I were to get another one I would get the Ethernet version simply because on principle it's better technology.

    Chris

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    36
    Hi Chris,

    I've installed ethernet smooth stepper with C32 board on my machine. I can without problems jog machine at 30m/min with X and Y axis. I'm using rack and pinion with servo motors and 10:1 reduction gear. So far looks very good and ESS is very stable.

    Regards,
    Peter

  4. #4
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34612
    The PMDX -126 has provisions for mounting the SS right on the board.
    Depending on the breakout board you choose, the ESS may require up to three breakout boards.

    The SmoothStepper won't do anything to affect the speed, but it gives you the ability to output steps at a much faster rate. So you'll have the ability to go faster, if the rest of your components can take advantage of it.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    231
    Not an attempt to hijack your thread but I am also thinking about using the smooth stepper on my next machine.......

    Will it work on a windows 7 machine?

    Will it work on 64 bit?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34612
    Quote Originally Posted by ssutton View Post
    Not an attempt to hijack your thread but I am also thinking about using the smooth stepper on my next machine.......

    Will it work on a windows 7 machine?

    Will it work on 64 bit?

    Thanks
    Yes, and yes.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1093
    ger21,

    Depending on the breakout board you choose, the ESS may require up to three breakout boards.
    What do you mean?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    590
    The ESS has 3 parallel ports of inputs/outputs.

  9. #9

    Smooth Stepper

    Hi Chris,

    I have a Shopbot PRT 48" X 96" Router that I completely replaced all the electronics and software with the exception of the stepper motors.

    I currently run it in Windows 7 32 bit on my HP Compaq 8710W laptop. I also used the PMDX 126 Break Out Board and plugged in a SmoothStepper right into the board. I also use Gerry's 2010 Screen Set. Everything works like a dream. Extremely satisfied.

    If you would like to take a look at the video I did on this retrofit you can see it here.

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4WQ8KcTSKyQ]Shopbot PRT Electronic and Software Retrofit - YouTube[/ame]

    John
    2007 HAAS TM-1P OneCNC XR5 Mill Pro. Shopbot PRT running Mach3 2010 Screen Set, Super PID and PMDX Electronics.Check out my Gallery on: http://www.johnsmarinesolutions@gmail.com

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1093
    John,
    How you wire SSR to pump from PMDX 126?

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    684
    here is a little project I put together on the smoothstepper. The goal was to place it between my laptop and G540 controller. I was able to get all functionality working but one.

    Jogging, Axis Moving: Working
    Homing Switches: Working
    Estop: Working
    Probe: Working
    Router Relay Control: Working
    SuperPID Control: Partial, Unable to control speed with Mach3

    My laptop has Win7 64-bit and it does work very well with SmoothSteeper. I just have to put the SuperPID into manual mode when using the Smootstepper. It still turns the router on and off, I just cant get it to control the speed.

    See the project here:
    SmoothStepper Hookup
    Author of: The KRMx01 CNC Books, The KRMx02 CNC Books, The KRmc01 CNC Milling Machine Books, and Building the HANS Electric Gear Clock. All available at www.kronosrobotics.com

  12. #12
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34612
    I just have to put the SuperPID into manual mode when using the Smootstepper. It still turns the router on and off, I just cant get it to control the speed.
    You might want to read through the long Super-PID thread. THere are plenty of people controlling their rpm with Smoothsteppers and a Super-PID.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Page 1 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. SmoothStepper + SuperPID
    By jharvey407 in forum SmoothStepper USB Motion Control
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-15-2013, 04:07 PM
  2. Config Smoothstepper
    By CncNor in forum SmoothStepper USB Motion Control
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-20-2012, 03:16 AM
  3. What next?Should i try Smoothstepper?
    By sylvester1073 in forum Controller Cards
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 01:19 AM
  4. What next, should i try the Smoothstepper?
    By sylvester1073 in forum Controller & Computer Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-01-2010, 10:32 AM
  5. Anyone tried a Smoothstepper?
    By Ranscon in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-07-2009, 07:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •