585,880 active members*
6,672 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 4 123

3rd Generation Router Build

I have been picking away at this project for nearly two years now, and it is finally close to completion.
    This machine is a refined version of my current machine that has done me great service over the last year and a half. This machine is an enclosed torsion box design. It is incredibly rigid and the enclosure keeps dust and noise inside. You can stand beside the machine with it running and carry on a normal conversation, no hearing protection needed. My shop (originally in my dining room in my last apartment!) stays completely dust free.
    The MDF came back from the CNC shop the other day, and it looks great. As you will see in the photos, all of the joints are dado'd for precise and solid fit. The windows and thrust bearings are flush, and there will be a front panel that will house the power supply, stepper drivers, a fan, power switches, and eventually a pendant control. I designed the machine to self align as it is built, guaranteeing a square machine.
    I approached this design with the intent to make it a kit so anyone can assemble this machine without having to deal with the difficult parts of a DIY machine. This machine is the first one off the presses, and will likely need a couple of tweaks here and there.
    I will be using IGUS slides for the X and Y (moving table design). And a V bearing type slide of my own design for the Z. I researched and experimented with the IGUS slides to be sure there will be no slop.
    Here are some pictures of the parts.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMGP5077.JPG   IMGP5079.JPG   IMGP5080.JPG   IMGP5083.JPG  

Here are a couple pictures of the table and gantry torsion boxes going together. These are a bit snug and took some tapping with a mallet to get them together, I will add .005" to the grooves to let these parts fit together a bit easier.