585,902 active members*
4,068 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Question DIY Electronics?

Is there any info somewhere on building your own electronics for a cnc machine?

I am an electrical engineering student and would like to make my own motor controllers, etc, for a cnc machine I plan to build in the future but I would prefer to have some sort of guide to help me. I plan on eventually converting a SX3.

Thanks!

CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

It depends upon what you are looking for.

For example there are many approaches to stepper comtrol on the net, you just need to do the required searches. Likewise chip manufactures have prints, guides and even complete development systems. Your solution can be as simple or complex as you want though if you are a beginner at design the obvious approach is to go for a simpler solution for controller #1.

hey ktkg

I am a recently graduated mechatronics engineer, and i gave thought to doing the same thing. As others have said, the solution is as complex as you want it to be, depending on how much you want to do yourself.

what i will say is this; be aware that you are VERY unlikely to end up with a better end product than somthing you buy off the shelf. Marketed motor drivers have large amount of post-design testing done to account for wide ranges of operating conditions etc.

Dont take this as discouragement, as i am a HUGE fan of DIY, and i do a lot of it myself. If you are doing it as a learning experience, or for the satisfaction of completing it yourself, then i say go for it. But if you just want to end up with a good driver, it will be cheaper/more relaible to just buy something.