585,667 active members*
4,030 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Distorted Lines and Curves - Vector Cut.

What would cause distorted lines and curves when operating a GCC Explorer II 60w (vector mode)?
    (Software, issues with X axis, Lenses, Motor?)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Vector Cutting Issue.jpg  

I am no expert, but it looks like you may be losing steps. I don't really know how to solve this problem, but someone here will be able to help. Just be patient and your problem will be addressed.

Milt

Hi there
    check your belts thats mostly the reason.
    greetings
    walt

Quote Originally Posted by alon1976 View Post
    What would cause distorted lines and curves when operating a GCC Explorer II 60w (vector mode)?

Hi Alon,

What file format is the file used? True Vector (DXF etc) or Raster (BMP etc)

I'm with the guys, it does look like a step issue but I've also seen crud on the slides do similar things.

Before going down that road lets rule out file problems to start with.

best wishes

Dave

Things to check:
    1. Your belt tension. They shouldn't be sagging, but not so tight you can't push down on them.

2. Missed steps. Run the file a few times over and see if the lines line up properly. If not, you're missing steps.

3. Run speed. If your carriage is particularly heavy, running it too fast can cause your belts to stretch, and you end up with wobble in your lines.

4. Gunk on your linear slides. Simple things such as sawdust, metal shavings etc stuck in the rails can create points of resistance, which in turn can lead to missed steps.

The wobbles in the lines look like you have a belt issue, but the disconnected line on the P is a clear missed step issue.
    Build logs and other projects of mine: http://nqlasers.com/

Probably not (i hope) but i've seen pulley's coming loose from the steppers.
    This gave similar results..
    The could rotate a little around the steppers-axis.

Kees