585,973 active members*
4,198 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > I need subprograms in CNC88 Control
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    0

    I need subprograms in CNC88 Control

    I have been working with the Fadal CNC 88 controller and have been successful in drip-feeding data into our newer CNC 88 controller. The program will move the machine in it's testing program. I have had to tweak the RS-232 program written in VB.Net by master programmer Jan Axleson, but it works well. Now I have been told by Fadal that I can not send back SPRINT data and I have verified this. The machine errors immediately because the controller runs it's program to completion. Okay, a Fadal suggestion is to try subprograms using # START P #### when I want to use a subprogram. Okay I have used cut and paste to create the subprograms labeling them as O771 O772 ...

    When I try to upload them to the control, I can't do it unless I put percent characters in the beginning and end of the file. If I try to upload without percent characters the files just list on the screen and there is no indication that they reside in memory.

    So my question is how do I get the subprograms in the control so that I can call them from the main program?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    317
    M98P#/ M99

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    0
    Denmar, M98P#/ M99

    Would that be M98P#7800 and then M99 at the end of each subprogram in memory? I will try this. I have tried M98 along with the START command, but the CNC controller just goes around or over these statements.

    I did just upload the subprograms with the % characters and I believe the main program starts loading the program lines after the program number. But I just can't get our machine to load them. But I will try your program line. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    84
    Below i what i would send though predator the editor to any fanuc or fadal we have at work.

    The sub's are overkill for what the program does, but keeps it simple so should make complete sense



    %
    O1234
    G80G90G40E1X-0.25Y-2.25
    S2000M3
    G00G43Z0.1H1
    M8
    M98 P1001
    G00 Z0.1
    M98 P1002
    G00 Z0.1
    E2 X-0.25 Y-2.25
    M98 P1001
    G00 Z0.1
    M98 P1002
    G00 Z0.1
    M9
    G00 G49 Z0. M19
    M30
    O1001
    G01 Z-0.5 F10.
    Y0.25
    G00 Z0.1
    M99
    O1002
    G00 X2.25Y0.25
    G01 Z-0.5 F10.
    Y-2.25
    G00 Z0.1
    M99
    %

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    0
    Thanks jvangelder, and you would think this would work. Actually programmer Douglas from Fadal told me to use the START command when using DNC with drip-feed, because SPRINT commands send the CNC controller into running the program to execution, so put the SPRINT commands in a subprogram. It doesn't work on the CNC 88 I am working with. So, the G31 probing command does work, when you have X Y variables (also if you have Z) But I get Y-1.136T, where the Y is -1.136 X is coming out as T and I don't know why. I am going to add some Z coordinates and see what I get.

    If I can figure out what the T means for X I may have this and could use this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    592
    I may be wrong because FADAL may have made up there own rules....

    But for most controls you can not call a sub program while running in DNC mode.

    Subs are used from a Main program when running in AUTO.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    0
    Skullworks, well that is what is appearing to be. So Douglas did say something that SPRINT when used causes the program to run to the end, not sure what that meant. But what happens is the one line is executed and sent back on the RS-232 port and the program stops. Not good! So my solution, is to remove the SPRINTS, or I may just program them out of my drip-feed routine, like I do the comment lines.

    Now that works, and I can run multiple lines. X, Y and Z probe points data is being sent on G31 lines, so I am good to go on this. It doesn't really matter how I get the data, as long as I am getting it and I am. The T probably stand for termination or something since it is the last character. N if it occurs is no data. Data points now I am geting with an 0Dhex character, though I wasn't always getting this, not sure what happened. But all that can be monitored with my program.

    Have a great night, my mind is a mush, from working on another .Net project, so should really have a :cheers: but it's getting late.

Similar Threads

  1. subprograms
    By gravy in forum Parametric Programing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-28-2012, 11:19 AM
  2. Do you have a CNC88 and want a 88HS?
    By carbidecraters in forum Fadal
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 02:48 AM
  3. Fadal CNC88 vs CNC88-HS
    By FadalNewbie in forum Fadal
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-19-2009, 04:55 PM
  4. subprograms
    By cnc@gci in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-19-2009, 02:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •