502,769 active members
4,505 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > changing solid face color
Page 2 of 2 12
Results 13 to 23 of 23
  1. #13
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3521

    Re: changing solid face color

    the option do work. there sounds like there is an issue maybe how you are setting them or a Video card if you have to hover over the model to see he color changes.
    As for feature it is there . now if you made the model in MC 2018 then go into Model prep and select that feature option set color and either pick a face of a feature or go to the Solid Mannger and pick a feature.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  2. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: changing solid face color

    I see it now. It says Set Feature. I was looking for Set Feature Color. I tried it and it still doesn't work.The model is from a customer. We do have SolidWorks 2018 but they don't use it. It's sent to use as a .STEP and because they have a complicated departmental structure to go thru, they won't cooperate to change it. :-(

    This video card is recommended by both software packages and all other graphics features work in both. There must be something else wrong.

  3. #15
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3521

    Re: changing solid face color

    so what is not working when you select that option it picks the whole model and changes all the faces?

    What do you expect to happen when you do this option?
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  4. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: changing solid face color

    Quote Originally Posted by cadcam View Post
    so what is not working when you select that option it picks the whole model and changes all the faces?

    What do you expect to happen when you do this option?

    No. When I use Modify Solid Face Color, the faces change as I select each and every one... one at a time. I want to change the color of the entire model, all at once, to be the one color I select (set). I don't want to change each face to a different color, nor change one face to a different color than the entire solid, which is what this selection sounds like it was designed for. I want to change the color of the entire BODY.

    When I right click Body (in the Solids Manager tab) the solid highlights because I have Auto Highlight checked.

    I click Clear Solid Feature Color (nothing happens that I can see).
    Then click Set Solid Color Feature and the color palette window pops up.
    I select my color, click the green check (OK) and nothing happens.

    I expect the solid to be the color I just set.

    What does CNC Software programmers/management define as Set Feature of a solid ?

  5. #17
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3521

    Re: changing solid face color

    Ok if you want to change the color of a whole solid mode then you use the solid color change just like wire frame or surfaces. as if you use it in Model prep and say a face or the whole part and you do an F4 analyze of the solid you will see he color of the model as the color it was brought in.

    (I click Clear Solid Feature Color (nothing happens that I can see).) if there has not been any change using Change face or feature we see no change so there will be no result.

    (I expect the solid to be the color I just set.) To do this with the whole solid in 2018 slect the solid right click pick a color under the Solid Color and it will change the whole model.

    (What does CNC Software programmers/management define as Set Feature of a solid ?) We define this as a feature selection if the model was made in MC not if brought in as a step that is a dumb solid.
    So example: if you had a model you made in Mastercam and say made a pocket you could select this option of Set feature and then go over to the Solid Manager and pick that feature of the pocket and it would change the color of that feature.

    I am figureing you do not have 2019 installed? as in this version if you change the faces in Solid Works and bring in to MC as a .SLDPRT file it will maintain the colors.

    Hope this helps.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  6. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: changing solid face color

    "Ok if you want to change the color of a whole solid mode then you use the solid color change just like wire frame or surfaces. as if you use it in Model prep and say a face or the whole part and you do an F4 analyze of the solid you will see he color of the model as the color it was brought in."
    - The above instructions do not work. When I select the solid and do F4 Analyze, the color that shows is what I want to change it to but the solid is not that color.

    "if there has not been any change using Change face or feature we see no change so there will be no result."
    - This is clearly the case as no color changed on the actual solid so there will be no screen graphic change. Even when I only change one face on the solid (which does work) and do a Clear Feature" the face is not cleared and is still the face color I made it.

    (I expect the solid to be the color I just set.) To do this with the whole solid in 2018 slect the solid right click pick a color under the Solid Color and it will change the whole model.
    - This does not do anything but change the little color icon in that right click menu.

    I am figuring you do not have 2019 installed? as in this version if you change the faces in Solid Works and bring in to MC as a .SLDPRT file it will maintain the colors.
    - Installed is SW 2018, MC X9 & 2018.

    Ok I made a simple cube solid in MC and the color options work. Non of the solid color options work, except for Face Color, in a "dumb solid" as you call it. I never knew there was such a thing. Can MC programmers add the extra MC color info to the model when imported? There should be a standard .STEP data structure involved. 99% of models we use are from customers.

    Hope this helps.[/QUOTE]
    - Yes, thanks for your help.

  7. #19
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3521

    Re: changing solid face color

    Any Chance you can share the file that is not working? the step file you are working with. you can share it here or I can give you an email to send to?
    Or share the 2018 MC file.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  8. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: changing solid face color

    Quote Originally Posted by cadcam View Post
    Any Chance you can share the file that is not working? the step file you are working with. you can share it here or I can give you an email to send to?
    Or share the 2018 MC file.
    That's the easy part. I can't send you the part but I'm also using the Kurt vise jaws. I delete all the other parts of the vise and just using the jaws.
    Download the .STEP file from the KURT website and check it out. If you can't then I can send the file with only the jaws in it.

  9. #21
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3521

    Re: changing solid face color

    maybe you check with your company as I want to you to send to me at QC at Mastercam . com
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  10. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: changing solid face color

    I can send you all but the actual part... strict customer policy. Emailing in a few minutes as Zip2Go.

  11. #23
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3521

    Re: changing solid face color

    We did get it working for Zbuilder it was were he was selecting and expecting results.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

Page 2 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. How to change color of solid .igs part
    By stinkfist in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-15-2011, 07:58 AM
  2. Changing Layer color, line type, ect....
    By Stampede in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-18-2009, 01:22 PM
  3. Solid-Draft Face
    By timmydabull in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-02-2008, 06:45 AM
  4. changing color
    By fastolds in forum GibbsCAM
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-27-2006, 08:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •