585,942 active members*
3,204 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Open Source CAM software for DIY (simultaneous 3D movement) CNC machine

Smile Open Source CAM software for DIY (simultaneous 3D movement) CNC machine

Searching for open-source CAM software with true 3d capability to use on diy CNC machine.

Background:
    I'm a computer engineering student with little to no experience with CAD/CAM software or CNC machines. As part of a research team, we are building a basic CNC machine which will ultimately be able to print circuits onto 3d surfaces.
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ap1xC6vgLoM]Conformal printing of 3D electrically small antennas - YouTube[/ame]

The CNC design will be very similar to this build.
    Easy to Build Desk Top 3 Axis CNC Milling Machine

:wee:

One of the main issues is finding software which will generate the appropriate g-code. All of the 3d printers I am aware of utilize g-code that implements a cross-sectional, layer-by-layer approach to printing (i.e. not truely 3d motor movement). For our build, this isn't an option.

Idea:
    What I have discovered is CNC machines used for engraving which are capable of having simultaneous 3d movement.
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zYpkpGfmPgE&feature=fvwrel]human head in maple - YouTube[/ame]

Is software intended for engraving a viable option for this project? If so, what open-source versions would you recommend for a (poor) beginner? Thank you for any helpful input.

that video looks like 5 axis.

search google for cnc toolkit
    first link is open source cam plugin for free 3d program.

Well, if you really want open-source (and/or free), there's HeeksCAD and HeeksCNC. There are also several closed-source commercial products (e.g. Cambam) that are customizable through user-written plugins.