585,599 active members*
3,714 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

mach 3 dimensional inaccuracies

Hi,
    I recently got a used Bear cnc router with a Bladerunner control box and Mach 3 software. I am new to both the machine and the software, and am having some accuracy issues:

When cutting a simple circle toolpath to test the system, I am getting a flat spot on either side of the cut at the outsides of the Y travel, and then a kink in the cut where the machine appears to try to correct itself. The distance across the Y axis where the flat spots are is undersized by about .050 or more on a 6" diameter, and then across the kinks after the flat spots is slightly oversized. By the time the cut reaches either end of the X axis, all is well, then as it continues cutting toward the Y axis the dimension gets progressively smaller until its smallest point where it cuts the flats.

I have checked all belts, pulleys, and pinion gears to be sure they are not slipping; checked all motor tuning and other settings in Mach 3; and re-calibrated the steps per unit multiple times for both the X and Y axes. The previous owners of the machine came out to help with troubleshooting and were as baffled as I am. Recalibrating the steps per unit helped some, but did not solve the problem, and I still have squashed circles. I am generating the toolpath with Vectric Cut 2D, and these test parts were drawn in Vectic Cut 2D.

What am I missing? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

You have backlash.
    Setup up a dial indicator and test backlash, then fix the mechanical problem(s).
    Mach3 is almost bullet proof. You have a hardware problem.
    Don't try to fix the backlash with compensation unless you must make this compromise. You will get rid of the flats, but then the cutter will leave rub marks as axis reversals mean the will be pauses in the motion.