584,833 active members*
5,350 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

combining 2 stl objects

I undrstand that Destproto is a cam software to write machine code. I am not a Cad user. I am also a hobbyist. My question is what if I need to combine a couple of stl objects to make a design. How can this be done or do I need a second program. I am retired so I cannot afford to have custom models made.I pland on buying from some sites on the web that sell models.

Thank you for your time.

It sounds like you're going to need a CAD program to do this. DeskProto only will import one STL file at a time, but you can easily combine them in most CAD programs. I don't think you'll get very far with this hobby without the ability to do at least some CAD work. It's not really that hard to do simple things. Here's a free 3d CAD program you can download: DAZ Hexagon

Andrew Werby
    www.computersculpture.com

You should be able to combine them in MeshLab as well. A free open source program for STL files.

MeshLab
    CAD, CAM, Scanning, Modelling, Machining and more. http://www.mcpii.com/3dservices.html

Thank you for the replies. I did D/L Hexagon. Just have not used it yet. I will also D/l Meshlab and see which will be better for me.

I just want to keep it simple. I will try these out. I just want to get the models and if I need it a program to combine them.

I think I am on the way now.

Thank You

PS: I did d/l a couple of demo Cad programs but they only let me import 1 stl or obj file. I think they expect you to create in the software not just group things.

You can also combine several STL files in DeskProto.
    Importing one STL file is done using command File > Load geometry.