585,959 active members*
4,706 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > need help building a rotary positioner.

need help building a rotary positioner.

Hi everyone.
    I want to build a rotary positioner for my welding robot. I have a low budget and i have little knowledge on the subject.

I need a minimum torque of 1600oz/in on the positionner. Bigger torque would be welcome.
    I was thinking using a timing belt and gear kit similart to this one here
    I can't use direct drive as i don't have enough place behind the positionner to set up a motor.

I was looking at a nema 34 step motor kit may be this one here

What i want to do is to be able to rotate 45-90-135-180-225-270-315-360 degree rotation. It don't have to be fast.
    And i might need to do continuous rotation at different speed.

i have digital output on my robot from which i can send pulse from 0.1 sec to as much as i want. I don't want it to be pulgged on a computer to be running. I'm looking for a solution i can program and execute "routine" depending on either the i/o activated or the amount of time an i/o is activated.

would you use a timing belt like the one in the ebay link of another solution?
    I'm i better to go with a integrated Step Motor + Driver + Encoder + Controller?

Thanks you for your help

David

A stepper motor might not be ideal. I would look at some large DC motors or gearmotors, and a final drive belt or chain.

For positioning you could use 8 limit switches, for the 8 desired positions.

Of course if you have 1:8 gearing you only need 1 limit switch. Or 1:4 gearing and 2 limit switches etc.