504,214 active members
4,789 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!
Page 2 of 2 12
Results 13 to 21 of 21
  1. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    404

    Re: Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!

    Quote Originally Posted by md63825 View Post
    Hey chipslc, your motherboard is a full-size motherboard. My EZ- Trak is a 2000 model and uses a smaller Single Board Computer (SBC) mounted to a passive backplane, so the Advantech MB I shared with you won't work. I found a refurbished board that matches the one you have: DFI G586IPC yours is similar to my'97 EZ-Trak.
    I don't see anything special about that DFI board. It's a standard AT pentium motherboard. I'd imagine anything of that vintage with ISA slots will work. I'd hunt around some of the PC recyclers and see it you can find something similar for under $20.

  2. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7

    Re: Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!

    Thanks for the info fellas! I just bought a used/working G586IPB/W7 for next to nothing. It looks like it will work to me. Do you guys think there is any reason it wouldn't work?

  3. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    129

    Re: Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!

    a

  4. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    129

    Re: Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!

    I'm not sure what a 7 Pentium is but it sounds like a later version of the Pentium processor. To replace the motherboard, you need an OLD pc board. 486, 586, or the earliest Pentium processor. The faster speeds of the newer processors will not work. You also need a VGA output for the monitor on the board. If the VGA output is from a plug in card, you will most likely need to load a driver for that card. Almost all of the early PC mother boards have a built in VGA output. I would do some more trouble shooting on the current board. Clean up all the connections and make sure the power supply has the 5v. If you manage to find an old pc, you may be able to replace the board but the easiest route is to install a backplane and use an advanteck board.

    Also, some things about your post does not sound exactly correct. I have both a 1997 and a 1998 machine. The 1997 has a motherboard but has a battery and not a timer chip. The 1998 has the "CIB" using a backplane and half size single board computer and it does have the timer chip installed. What is the serial number of your mill? Not the control but stamped on the top front of the knee? That will give you the year of the mill.

  5. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    404

    Re: Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!

    Both the DFI G586IPC and the G586IPB/W7 appear very similar. Both are socket 7.

    Maybe you should post a picture of exactly what you have. Generally if the board posts... but has a CMOS error you simply need to enter the BIOS, change the settings to reflect your hardware and save the settings. If the settings don't stick then you may need to replace the cmos battery. Machines of this vintage don't detect stuff automatically so you'll likely need to manually enter the drive parameters for example.

    Quote Originally Posted by reabdet21 View Post
    If you manage to find an old pc, you may be able to replace the board but the easiest route is to install a backplane and use an advanteck board.
    I have a spare backplane out of a TC-3 if you decide to go the advantech route. Send me a PM.

  6. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    8

    Re: Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!

    I know this is an old thread but I just bought one of these old machines and I cannot get it to boot. Nothing shows on the screen. Blank

  7. #19
    Moderator machintek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3028

    Re: Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!

    Blank screen: Bad CRT? Bad video board? Mother board dead? logic power supply dead?
    Reboot and watch the floppy. It it lights up and spins a few seconds, it means the logic power supply is probably good and the mother board is thinking. Then I would look at cable and CRT. You did not say what type of MB you have. Some have a separate video board.
    If floppy does not spin put a meter on the logic power supply.

    George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  8. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    8

    Re: Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!

    George, thanks for the reply. Can you check out this thread I started? I have tried a different monitor and directly to the wall outlet. I'm not sure if I have a floppy LED or not.? But all the boards light up. https://www.cnczone.com/forums/bridg...ridegport.html

  9. #21
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    5

    Re: Bridgeport EZ Trak CMOS error, replaced RTC, still broken!

    Quote Originally Posted by md63825 View Post
    Chipslc, I got my machine back online today. Followed some of the information found on your original post and had a local computer company replace the RTC. Unfortunately, they did a poor soldering job and I believe as a result, rendered the MB unusable. So, I ordered a new one from Advantech ($250) and it works great. Here's the link for it: PCA-6743F-Q0A1E-ISA Half-size Single Board Computer, DM&P Vortex86DX, LVDS, LAN, 8 COM, CF PC/104 The only issue I ran into was I tried to replace the HDD with a DOM. I had a few 32MB DOMs laying around and tried to use them. Turns out they were to small and I returned to using the 8GB HDD and everything loaded fine and the old girl came back to life. I'm gonna replace the old CRT screen with a new LCD and she'll be good as new. And she literally looks almost like new. Got it from aTech school that rarely used it. Good luck with yours.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
    Excellent thread md63825. I replaced the SBC on my 1998 Bridgeport VMC - the old one had not died, but it had some weird glitches. Excellent result, I left all the defaults as they were - and the machine came up very nicely (the storage "disk" was all on the piggyback board, so I didn't need to even reload anything). Awesome, thanks again md. David

Page 2 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. EZ-Trak 6.00_5.78 software on a EZ-Trak SX mill causes Initgrafix error
    By Greatdaen in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2013, 05:41 PM
  2. Bridgeport Ez Trak SX - "No Cable" Error Message
    By sullivnc in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2013, 12:03 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2012, 09:03 PM
  4. ez trak cmos failure
    By krams in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 01:35 AM
  5. Bridgeport EZ Trak SX-II Startup Error
    By duramaxmachines in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 05:05 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •