585,902 active members*
4,306 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Newbie

I am a gun guy and know little to nothing about machining. I am ready to expand my business to the manufacturing side of the house and start cranking out my own firearms. I'm going to start small with a used Haas Mini Mill. I've already had an engineer make a 3D model of the part I'm going to start with. I do have a couple of questions.

If I have a machinest set everything up and show me the ropes, is this something you guys think I could do on my own or will I need to hire a machinist on a regular basis? I learn quickly, but again, I have no experience in this area.

What software would you recommend? Remember, I'm trying to start small.

Those with mini mills, how many vices can you use simultaneously?

Will I be able to use a double vice?

Thanks in advance for any help!

If I have a machinest set everything up and show me the ropes, is this something you guys think I could do on my own or will I need to hire a machinist on a regular basis? I learn quickly, but again, I have no experience in this area. - If you fancy yourself an operator and just want to load parts into the machine and press the green button and then unload the parts, you probably can hire some local guy to program, fixture, and set up your jobs for you as needed.

What software would you recommend? Remember, I'm trying to start small. - Your set up guy will probably supply his own software or manually write the G-code needed. If you are not doing 3D surfacing, Getting a Haas with the IPS and taking time to learn it, you can probably make your own programs. But, it will take you time and a lot of practice.

Those with mini mills, how many vices can you use simultaneously? - Depends on the size of the vises (not vices). The normal size Kurt vise, probably 2 is a good number.

Will I be able to use a double vice? - Yes, you could even go to the extra expense of the doubles.