509,708 active members
3,123 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > G-Code Programing > Can I do a absoute linear move on one axis, and a relative a-axis move same time?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    650

    Can I do a absoute linear move on one axis, and a relative a-axis move same time?

    Just checking - I make a part with rotary indexing and it would go faster to do an absolute y axis move at the same time (asyncronously) as the A axis is doing its thing in relative mode... I don't want to sync axis, just rapid them both at their own max speeds at the same time... is that possible?

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23196
    G00 for both on the same line?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1770
    No idea about A-axis, but G00 X_ W_ and and G00 U_ Z_ are permitted on a lathe.

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517
    If you do G00 Y... A... they are both absolute.
    If there is a letter for relative A axis then you can use it if it's a lathe.
    On a lathe with C axis, relative is H.
    But there is no A axis on a lathe so there is no relative A axis letter.

    If you switch your A Axis to make it C then H may work if it's a lathe.
    If it's a mill it probably won't work because on a mill you can only switch
    absolute/incremental mode using G90/G91 and the CNC-controlled axes are
    restricted to X Y Z A B C (and in special cases additional axes U V W)
    A mill does not understand any axis movement as relative unless you specify
    G91 first and in that case you specify only X Y Z A B C

    So the short answer is 'no'

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    4519
    Quote Originally Posted by Spinnetti View Post
    Just checking - I make a part with rotary indexing and it would go faster to do an absolute y axis move at the same time (asyncronously) as the A axis is doing its thing in relative mode... I don't want to sync axis, just rapid them both at their own max speeds at the same time... is that possible?
    Post your code as it is now. I was to see what you are currently doing.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    109

    G00 > rapid, individual or combined move ?

    for fanuc 21iA/31iB see parameter 1401#1, LRP, where this decision is made.

    only if your lathe is set for G-code group A would X(in abs) W(incrimental) combination work in the same line.

    G-code group B & C works the same as a milling control where only one ,G90 or G91, is valid for the whole line.

    if you need prm.1401#1 setting to be different in some parts of your program ,to your own preference, G10 can be used when needed.

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517
    He doesn't say, but it appears he has a mill so W does not apply and he has
    to use G90/G91 and then all movement on one line is either one or the other.
    Just program it all in absolute and move on.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    650
    Thanks for the replies.. Answer is no, it doesn't work... not on my machine anyway.

    I wanted to do true coordinated moves but can't because by default the tormach rotary table doesn't know where it is. I can work around, but was just trying to reduce cycle times by doing my a and x/y/z moves all at once.

Similar Threads

  1. Y axis cannot move up...
    By rararuru in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 02:21 AM
  2. All axis will not move
    By SELECT in forum Fadal
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 04:37 PM
  3. how to move the Z axis
    By cob in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-23-2008, 01:56 AM
  4. G91 B axis move?
    By DocHod in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 05:56 AM
  5. How do you move an axis manually ?
    By Eurisko in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-07-2007, 03:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •