585,762 active members*
4,469 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Which Milling Machine To Buy....
Page 1 of 2 12

Which Milling Machine To Buy....

Hello Everyone,

Let me begin by saying that I am new to hobby CNC. That being said, I am not green to machine tools and working in a machine shop environment, so I can follow along with most of you. I've read some posts here and have learned quite a lot from reading. I have also visited many of the websites that the members here refer to often, like g0704.com and CNCFusion.com. I do have a question or two though, and I am looking for recommendations.

My first question is, which milling machine do you recommend? I am considering 2 machines right now, the Seig X3 and its corporate variants, and the Grizzly G0704. I want to convert the mill to CNC eventually. I will consider other machines, but these 2 seem to have a good fan base and that speaks volumes by itself. At this point, I am leaning towards the G0704 and I am thinking several things at this stage:

1) I am interested in making small parts from aluminum, mostly 12 inches or less in size.

2) I want a machine that I can grow into, not one that I will be looking to replace as my skills and needs increase.

3) I believe in saving up my money and buying the better machine in the beginning, however, I don't need a full sized mill and don't have any plans to need one in the future.

My second question is, does anyone make a single purchase kit with all of the electronic components to run the mill? Electronics is an area that I lack knowledge in and the easier the better. I can handle the mechanical stuff, but I get a little lost when it comes to electronics. From prior reading, I already know to stay away from the Chinese stuff.