584,805 active members*
4,987 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

1.5m x 1.2m Steel & Wood Router

I've had this machine up and running for around 6 months now so thought it was about time to put up a thread.

I started thinking about making a machine about 2yrs ago or so, my first thoughts were for an A3 sized cutting envelope capable of wood/aluminium/composite machining.
    After some time reading all the build threads on here I came to the conclusion I should go big or go home, for the construction method I had in mind it wasn't going to change my cost that much.
    As I wanted to be able to load standard sheets of mdf on I settled on 1220 wide but compromised slightly on the length and went for 1500 instead of 2440 just to keep the machine a manageable size. I settled on ballscrews all round with X & Y running on skate bearings on RHS steel and linear rails for my Z, all run by a G540 & linuxCNC.

Being a structural engineer I have some idea about beam design which I used to my advantage I think.
    Main rails on the table are 2 75x45x2RHS's welded together, one on edge with one on its flat welded to the top of that one, that has given me quite good stiffness which I needed as I use a single screw down the middle which means a tie across under the main beams so no midspan support.
    One rail is welded to the end members and the other is bolted on allowing me to shim them to get them parallel, funnily enough when I measured them they were within 0.001mm of parallel straight off, I was quite pleased, bit of a fluke!

As I wanted around 300mm of clearance under the gantry I elected to use right angle side frames (from 60x30x2RHS) to get the bearings for the Y axis far apart (around 500mm).