585,722 active members*
4,148 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > rebuilding an older machine..Advice please...

rebuilding an older machine..Advice please...

I'm new to the CNC world, but I got my hands on a solidly built Vytek Rebel 4x8' machine from an out-of-business sign shop. It's powered up and runs smooth using the control box.

I don't have any of the original software so I was looking to 'modernize' the machine by removing the servo motors and buying a stepper motor/controller kit and starting from scratch. This was recommended to me by a friend who has built his own machine and is a proponent of steppers, and the wealth of online knowledge available.

I pulled one of the motors, its a parvex rx320 7.8A 54V. DC with brushes. Now I have found these for sale (inverterdrive.com) and my question is this.... Should I try to find a drive controller for these motors or start fresh with a stepper kit? Also keeping in mind that I'm a newbie and will be learning as I go.

Will gladly provide pictures if this helps, any advice appreciated

Thanks!

IRONELEPHANT

In my opinion you will be ahead in a few ways by keeping the existing motors, providing they have a decent life left in them, brush length etc.
    In spite of what you 'biased' friend says, the servo is the best choice.
    So as well as having the motors in place, which are already correctly sized if presently doing a good job of operating the machine now, and hopefully have differential encoders, rather than resolvers etc.
    You would also have the correct power supply in place.
    So you just need a software package and DC drives.
    Being 54vdc motors, you should have a wide choice.
    That inverter drive is for a induction motor spindle, not servo's.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.