585,761 active members*
4,198 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Haas TM2 + SolidCAM (or other CAM)
Page 1 of 2 12

Unhappy Haas TM2 + SolidCAM (or other CAM)

Hello there folks,

Have read many informative posts here and would like to thank you all for sharing stuff!

I am trying to setup and use a Haas TM2 with the 4th axis option, no tool changer and RS232 communication. I have a hefty background in IT, design, CAD, small constructions and desktop laser cutting machines yet I form a complete newbie in CNC milling, THUS facing problems using SolidCAM and the TM2 in general. Somewhat gathered, my questions are:

1a. Do i HAVE to define a new machine identical to our TM2 including dimensions and all parametres (i have created the STL model and imported correctly dimensions/axes in .vmid file) AND write a pre/post processor for it... so that we can safely use the g-code? The .vmid machine is it just for simulation but pre and post processors must contain all accurate data (Hp, speeds, table length)?

1b. SolidCAM offers the following options: gMilling_Haas_3x, gMilling_HaasSS_3x, Fanuc, g_milling_3X, g_milling_3XB, g_milling_3XDC

G-code output with Haas options gives BAD NUMBER error when sent to the machine, Fanuc option works bad -my local Haas dealer later suggested it and US support told me to avoid it due to differences in canned cycles- and resulted in a spooky error while on a test drilling cycle (tool forgot to raise and went through the part -foam-) Will it be safer not to use such cycles till i find an 100% compatible post processor?

1c. In case i really need a post processor to mill with safety, is there any company that i could get one from or anyone here with experience on the field? (writing one myself could be possible with some help but maybe better not in this moment)