584,841 active members*
4,484 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Trying to decide between a Tormach PCNC 770, 1100, Mikini 1610L and Syil
Page 1 of 2 12

Trying to decide between a Tormach PCNC 770, 1100, Mikini 1610L and Syil

This machine will be used for a small electronics company doing prototyping and R&D. Mainly it will be used for making electronics enclosures out of plastic and aluminum, but will also be used for other R&D projects.

We use SolidWorks as our CAD system and I am also looking for suggestions on the CAM software. I have some experience with Gibbs, but am mainly wondering if SprutCAM is worth it.

I am currently leaning towards the PCNC 770 for the higher spindle speeds. We have 220 power available though, so I am not leaning towards the PCNC 770 for power or space reasons.

Budget is a factor as we are trying to stay around $15,000.

I also had a question about using the 4th axis, as we will probably spring for this option. I have never utilized a 4th axis and wonder about the learning curve of programming for it.

Any input from you guys is greatly appreciated, and as I said before, I am currently leaning towards the PCNC 770. The greatest benefit from the Mikini is that it is fully enclosed and the HP bump.