586,005 active members*
5,086 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Feature-Cam to Master Cam

I have been using Feature Cam for the last 10 years and I have had very little training at all on it. We have two machine shops in my company but we are 100 miles apart. The other machine shop uses Master cam. Management would like us both to use the same software so that our programs are interchangeable from shop to shop. So I have been given two days training on Master cam level 1. The trainer keeps telling me to stop comparing it to Feature Cam but if I can do something with Feature Cam in 15 minutes and it takes 3 hours with Master cam why shouldn’t I compare it.

Has anyone ells had this trouble going to Master cam. :drowning:

thats because the trainer knows his software is not nearly as friendly as FC. ask him if he whants to have a challange and see how fast he backs down. I will give MC credit for trying to come out of the dos days and make the software more user friendly but they still have a long way to go.

That’s about the best way I have found to compare the two. It's like going from windows (Feature Cam) to Dos (Master cam). The instructor keeps telling me that if I build all the macros, then it will do almost what Feature cam can do.

So that means we spend all this money for Master cam and then spend all this time on creating macros just to almost have Feature cam., which I already have?????

What type of machines are you programming??? 3-axis, 5-axis, mill/turns?

Dean
    In-Source Technical Solutions

I use it to program 15 axis cinci planer mills (triple spindle 100 HP 5 axis with a 180 foot bed) And 5 axis turn/mills. and trick the Mill side to do wire with a cutom post I built in FC's Xbuild in about 15 min. give mastercam and gibbs about 15 years and they may halfway catch up, not likely though.