585,728 active members*
4,528 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New to Benchtop CNC's

new to the forum, and to benchtop CNC'ing.

i work in an aerospace machine shop, just got into the industry 6 months ago. i'm currently an operator on a Mazak Vortex 1400/160-II, i'm pretty much just doing setups and pressing the GO button and letting the machine do all the work.

i would like to run some parts for my airsoft guns, rail systems and metal body's and whatnot. the stock stuff is cheap potmetal and i want to make better ones out of 6061 aluminum. which means i am in the market for a good benchtop cnc machine, with a fairly large work area (20" x 10" x ?" is what i'd prefer to have), and able to keep tight tolerances. should i be looking for a built machine or be looking to build my own?

any info and/or opinions on the matter is greatly appreciated.

Mike

20 inches in the x isn't hard to find but 10 in the y is a little harder to find in a "benchtop".
    SX4's have about 10 y and the IH clones about 12 inches.
    RF45's and clones go about 21-22 x and 8-9 y.
    bf30's also are about 8-9 inches y travel.
    the bf46 is also 10 inches y.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

Quote Originally Posted by mchlmacdonald View Post
    new to the forum, and to benchtop CNC'ing.

i work in an aerospace machine shop, just got into the industry 6 months ago. i'm currently an operator on a Mazak Vortex 1400/160-II, i'm pretty much just doing setups and pressing the GO button and letting the machine do all the work.
    Nice hardware to start out on.