585,763 active members*
4,213 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: New PCNC770

New PCNC770

I have been reading this site for quite a while and because of it and others I decided to buy a PCNC770. I bought a demonstration model from Tormach and picked it up a couple of months ago in Wanakee, Wis, it's about a two hr drive from my house. I live in Dubuque, Iowa. It has the ATC and 4th axis set up. I had to dismantle it to get into my basement, what a job that was. I finally got it reassembled and leveled. I have been manual machining for many years and am self taught. I have never ran a CNC but am looking forward to learning and making parts. I make restoration parts for Japanese military items. I need to buy a cad/ cam program now. For someone with no CNC or cad experience what would be the best way to go. I know this has been asked before. Most of the things I will be making will be reversed engineered from original parts from my collection. so I an thinking about buying a digitizer probe. I have seen many of commercial model and a number of self built models. I don't want to spend an arm and a leg for one yet. I saw one at the deepgrove1 site. has anyone used this digitizer? Thank you for any help. Also looking for a mentor in this area:-) Don

HI DonS,

Congrats on your new mill. I am also going to be the proud owner of a new PCNC 770 this coming Wednesday. Luckily I don't have to take it downstairs as my shop is in my garage, however I have to get pretty good at doing some shoehorning pretty soon. I need to figure out what get's to get a new home outside of my garage.

In response to your question about software, if 2.5d will handle your needs, I would suggest you considering DolphinCadCam. It is a really great software package and is very easy to use. If you have a need for full 3d stuff, I can say that Alibre is a great CAD software. I'm not sure about 3d CAM, but I have heard that visual mill is pretty good, as is SprutCam.