584,814 active members*
5,293 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thinking of buying one

Hello, I'm new to this particular forum and would like to get some feeback from some current owners of the CNC Patriot machines. I have a small shop and I'm in need of a cnc tool room style lathe. I understand the patriot will do milling as well but I have a couple cnc mills so would not be in need to really use it as a mill. What kind of perfermance should I expect as far as the lathe features. I have a tormach 1100 cnc mill with the tormach configured Mach3 and have been very pleased with it. Does the Partriot have limit switches? hold reliable tolerance? I'm not looking for a machine to do high production, mostly just ones and twos, small shafts, job shop type stuff etc.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated...
    Thanks
    Blake

Is waiting for the upcoming Tormach CNC lathe an option?

I have been planning on waiting for he tormach cnc lathe to come out, just seems like I've been waiting a while now. I just ran across the Patriot and for the money it seemed like a real bargain.

Well, it's certainly tough to beat the Patriot's swing for that money and footprint. It would be nice to have 5C collet capability in the spindle, though.

Mike

I would love to see one of these things in person. I would have a hard time ordering one without every actually seeing one. When I purchased my tormach the company put me in contact with some owners that were within a couple of hours of me. Seeing the machine in person really helped in my decision.

Shoptask has a policy of not giving out customer names, but if you send an e- mail with your general location, they will forward it to owners in your area, then if the owner is willing to let you look they will contact you.

Thanks, I will send them an email , would really like to see one in person.