585,759 active members*
3,904 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Linear and Rotary Motion > Ballscrew driven articulating head.

Ballscrew driven articulating head.

Folks, what do you think of the new Centroid 5 axis?
    The patent was only lodged last year on the head, I reckon it is awesome!
    5 axis CNC Cylinder Head Porting Machine. Digitize and CNC port Intake, Exhaust ports, and Combustion chambers.
    Could we build one? LinuxCNC maybe?

Just like the oldest profession, asking the question "HOW MUCH?" LOL

There is value in the fixturing, tooling and resident CNC part programs for some common engines. Otherwise, you will have to compare these Centroid machines to other 5-axis machining centers, building the tooling and CNC programs.

If the knowledge base, machining capability and capacity, time and money are there it could be done. My cohorts in crime and I do this for a living. (actually they do, I just help with the mech. eng. part). End product 4-8 axis gear hobbers.

One other question, Who is WE???

Dick Z
    DZASTR

Quote Originally Posted by RICHARD ZASTROW View Post
    Just like the oldest profession, asking the question "HOW MUCH?"
    Well i was thinking a chinese ballscrew with a nema23 stepper, plus a pivot point added to the design of the carriageway, but this is not a machine build (yet).
    Quote Originally Posted by RICHARD ZASTROW View Post
    Who is WE???
    Well, you've cornered me there, we as in anybody who cares to dabble with 5 axis.
    It seems so much energy has been spent on draw bars and tool carousels added to Syil mills, really, if you're making parts in the shed what's the point?

Would'nt a turbocharger impeller, porting a motorcycle cylinder head or a dry sump bed plate for a hill climb motor be the kind stuff we'd like our machines to build?

Thats my 2 cents, each to their own.