585,741 active members*
5,189 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > DIY aluminium and extrusion build BIG MACHINE
Page 1 of 4 123

DIY aluminium and extrusion build BIG MACHINE

Hello everyone, after a long time searching and reading through many CNC forums online I decided to start my build in late spring this year. And I've been a bit busy getting the machine together. I am by no means an engineer or qualified in any subject, I can just put my mind to something and try to make the best of things. I'm not far from getting this machine moving now but before I do so I just wanted to ask the members on this forum for some suggestions advice or help. Any input is appreciated, I don't mind honest opinions and thoughts even if they sound harsh.

Many thanks. Here is a quick photo attached.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails image.jpg  

And I forgot to ask the questions! Lol

Does anybody have any criticism towards the way this machine has been built? Does anybody see any failure points with regards to the way my carriages are built for the Y/A movement as well as the X axis movement.

Do my gear and rack placement require adjustment? I can adjust the racks so I have full engagement or adjust to leave upto 0.6mm gap between gear and rack.
    I will start off by just routing aluminium composite for signage, wood and eventually later in next year metal also.

Gearboxes have a 3:1 ratio
    I'm using the eding CNC controller, leadshine drivers, breakout board.
    All the aluminium plates are 20mm and the base plate for the Y/A carriages are 25mm

Any more information required? Just ask.

Thank you in advance.

Usman

Another pic

Another pic

Anyone out there? Lol
    Here's another pic

I need lots of input!

Time for another pic!