585,956 active members*
4,411 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

High Pressure Coolant

Hello all and happy holidays!
    I'm a swiss consultant/contractor which allows me visit numerous swiss houses and evaluate their procedures/operations. Once in a while for larger companies, I'm asked to evaluate setup procedures and try to help reduce setup time on swiss machines. Of course, there are many areas that I can bring up for discussion, but the one thing that I've seen stand out in setup time consumption is the plumbing the high pressure lines/nozzles.

Along with the tremendouse benefits of using high pressure units, there also comes the laborous tasks to search, cut, deburr, install, and bend high pressure lines. In some instances, I've seen it can take up to hours depending on the amount of lines used and the machine makeup.

I'd let to get some feedback on people who frequently use and install HPC lines. The purpose of this discussion is to evaluate if there is a real need to improve speed in HPC line installation by developing a new system that involves quick connect line links and nozzles. Would any of you see a market for such a product?
    Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
    Pete

I think the need for a modular system depends on the frequency of setups. At my last job we had more or less standard tooling locations so once I ran the high pressure lines they were good for a month or more depending on its location. That being said, it took a while to get them all bent/positioned/setup. I dont really know what you could do to speed up the installation. we used steel brake line so I'd have to cut it with a cutoff disc, chamfer the ends on a small belt sander, bend the lines, adjust, bend, adjust, more if necessary.