585,759 active members*
3,821 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Programing mistake. ??
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75

    Programing mistake. ??

    I have a some parts I am trying mill.

    I set Z to surface and on the first move the bit does not raise up off the surface, After it makes the first move it will raise off surface for all the rest of the cuts.

    I am doing something wrong in the programing but can not figure out what.

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1852
    Quote Originally Posted by Milton View Post
    I have a some parts I am trying mill.

    I set Z to surface and on the first move the bit does not raise up off the surface, After it makes the first move it will raise off surface for all the rest of the cuts.

    I am doing something wrong in the programing but can not figure out what.

    Thanks for your help.
    You must post much more info for us. What program, what machine, what post, and post your program.

    Mike
    Two Haas VF-2's, Haas HA5C, Haas HRT-9, Hardinge CHNC 1, Bother HS-300 Wire EDM, BobCAD V23, BobCAD V28

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Running machine with Mach3 software , Cad software is Bob Cad Cam standard and using mach3 processor that is loaded in Bob Cad Cam .

    Driver board is a Hobby CNC.

    Thanks
    Milton

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0
    Check and see if you have a G53 Z0 as one of your first lines of code. That is what tells Mach3 to go to machine 0 to start. You may have the part Zero and Machine Zero on the same plane.

    Copy and past or upload your program like Mike said and someone can take a look.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Until I Figure figure out what I am doing going to trick it and put s small dot out side the part and see what happens.

    Thanks
    Milton

    (BEGIN PREDATOR NC HEADER)
    (MACH_FILE=HAAS - 3XVMILL.MCH)
    (MTOOL T1 S1 D.125 H1.5 A0. C0. DIAM_OFFSET 1 = .0625)


    (SBOX X0. Y0. Z-.19 L1.496 W.8406 H.19)
    (END PREDATOR NC HEADER)

    %
    O100
    (PROGRAM NUMBER)
    (PROGRAM NAME - DA3W FINISH BRACKET.NC)
    (POST - MACH 3 MILL NO ATC)
    (DATE - THU. 12/27/2012)
    (TIME - 06:06PM)

    N01 G20 G40 G49 G54 G80 G90 G91.1
    ;N02 G53 Z0.

    (JOB 1 PROFILE)
    (FEATURE PROFILE)

    ;N03 T1 M6
    N04 S7639 M03
    N05 G00 G90 G54 X-.202 Y-.1545
    ;N06 G43 H1 Z.1 M08
    N07 G01 Z-.19 F45.8366
    N08 X-.468 F91.6732
    N09 G17 G03 X-.4695 Y-.156 I0. J-.0015
    N10 G01 Y-.158
    N11 G03 X-.468 Y-.1595 I.0015 J0.
    N12 G01 X-.202
    N13 G03 X-.2005 Y-.158 I0. J.0015
    N14 G01 Y-.156
    N15 G03 X-.202 Y-.1545 I-.0015 J0.
    N16 G00 Z.1
    N17 X-1.303 Y-.1595
    N18 G01 Z-.19 F45.8366
    N19 X-1.037 F91.6732
    N20 G03 X-1.0355 Y-.158 I0. J.0015
    N21 G01 Y-.156
    N22 G03 X-1.037 Y-.1545 I-.0015 J0.
    N23 G01 X-1.303
    N24 G03 X-1.3045 Y-.156 I0. J-.0015
    N25 G01 Y-.158
    N26 G03 X-1.303 Y-.1595 I.0015 J0.
    N27 G00 Z.1

    (JOB 2 PROFILE)
    (FEATURE PROFILE)

    N28 S7639
    N29 X-1.3108 Y-.8224
    N30 G01 Z-.091 F45.8366
    N31 X-1.3526 Y-.8781 F91.6732
    N32 G00 Z.1

    (JOB 3 PROFILE)
    (FEATURE PROFILE)

    N33 S7639
    N34 X-1.308 Y-.8201
    N35 G01 Z-.091 F45.8366
    N36 X-1.1965 Y-.6854 F91.6732
    N37 G00 Z.1

    (JOB 4 PROFILE)
    (FEATURE PROFILE)

    N38 S7639
    N39 X-.6986 Y-.0383
    N40 G01 Z-.091 F45.8366
    N41 X-1.1987 Y-.682 F91.6732
    N42 G00 Z.1

    (JOB 5 PROFILE)
    (FEATURE PROFILE)

    N43 S7639
    N44 X-.5693 Y.0384
    N45 G01 Z-.091 F45.8366
    N46 X-1.1456 Y-.7031 F91.6732
    N47 G00 Z.1

    (JOB 6 PROFILE)
    (FEATURE PROFILE)

    N48 S7639
    N49 X-1.1514 Y-.7019
    N50 G01 Z-.091 F45.8366
    N51 X-1.2117 Y-.7854 F91.6732
    N52 G00 Z.1

    (JOB 7 PROFILE)
    (FEATURE PROFILE)

    N53 S7639
    N54 X-.6986 Y-.0383
    N55 G01 Z-.1181 F45.8366
    N56 X-1.1568 Y-.6281 F91.6732
    N57 X-1.1105 Y-.6579
    N58 X-.5693 Y.0384
    N59 G00 Z.1

    (JOB 8 PROFILE)
    (FEATURE PROFILE)

    N60 S7639
    N61 X-.13 Y.0625
    N62 G01 Z-.19 F45.8366
    N63 X-1.366 F91.6732
    N64 G03 X-1.5585 Y-.13 I0. J-.1925
    N65 G01 Y-.6147
    N66 G03 X-1.481 Y-.7691 I.1925 J0.
    N67 G01 X-1.3207 Y-.8885
    N68 X-1.057
    N69 G03 X-.9652 Y-.8652 I0. J.1925
    N70 G01 X-.0381 Y-.3618
    N71 G03 X.0625 Y-.1927 I-.0919 J.1692
    N72 G01 Y-.13
    N73 G03 X-.13 Y.0625 I-.1925 J0.
    N74 G00 Z.1
    N75 M09
    N76 M05
    ;N77 G53 Z0.
    ;N78 G53 Y0.

    (END OF PROGRAM)

    N79 M30
    %

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3757
    Un comment N02 G53 Z0 and see what happens.
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    0
    The post you are using is for Mach3 no ATC, This will tell Mach 3 to run every feature without stopping for tool changes.

    So tell us what you were trying to do, Face the stock first? stop and change tools to cut slots and then the OD profile?

    Another thing, your stock definition and where you are machining do not match. It’s best to back plot in Bobcad or Predator before you cut parts.

    Are you using Bobcad V25?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3757
    Even with the most trivial of programs I backplot with some tool or other, or do a ghost run with no cutter.
    It is very rare to crash a tool once this approach is taken.
    A near crash means it is bed time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1570
    there's a simple answer for this. normally when you're running a machine with a tool changer the tool start from the to change position. in this case you're not running a tool changer. so before you go to start a program you should jog your tool up to Clearance.

    then when you run your program the tool will come down to start cutting.

    if you wanted you could change your post processor to put in the clearance move either during or after your workoffset position.
    Al DePoalo
    Partner Product Manager BobCAD CAM, Inc. 866-408-3226 X147

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Here is a picture of the part.

    So I zero Z to the surface then move it up before I start the File
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DA simulation pic.jpg  

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    I am totally new to this, this is my first attempt to doing anything with Cad Cam software.

    In the past I had someone else write the programs.

    Milton

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4548
    Quote Originally Posted by Milton View Post
    I am totally new to this, this is my first attempt to doing anything with Cad Cam software.

    In the past I had someone else write the programs.

    Milton
    Milton,
    Right clcik the machine setup1 and choose edit, then select the origin button and choose one of the dots on the top of the stock (To match where you are setting the zero on the stock in the machine). Your origin is currently defined at the bottom of the stock....

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    394
    You could also edit the post processor to add in clearance (G53 Z0) after each tool change or download the alternate rev1 Mach post processor and activate the optional stop in Mach 3 for each tool change

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by aldepoalo View Post
    there's a simple answer for this. normally when you're running a machine with a tool changer the tool start from the to change position. in this case you're not running a tool changer. so before you go to start a program you should jog your tool up to Clearance.

    then when you run your program the tool will come down to start cutting.

    if you wanted you could change your post processor to put in the clearance move either during or after your workoffset position.
    Set Z to zero and then raised it, Works great and thanks for the tip.

    Milton

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by BurrMan View Post
    Milton,
    Right clcik the machine setup1 and choose edit, then select the origin button and choose one of the dots on the top of the stock (To match where you are setting the zero on the stock in the machine). Your origin is currently defined at the bottom of the stock....
    Will try this today, Must be why when I lot the file in Mach3 is turned 190 deg from what I drew in Cad.

    Thanks all for help.

    Milton

Similar Threads

  1. Online cnc programing/ offline cnc programing
    By grimantas in forum Polls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-28-2012, 02:03 PM
  2. Would this be an upgrade or a mistake?
    By thewoodnerd in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 06:59 PM
  3. Design mistake
    By nerginer in forum Waterjet General Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-22-2007, 03:14 PM
  4. New guy makes first $$$ mistake
    By RMagnusson in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-22-2006, 12:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •