585,902 active members*
4,317 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Ok I'm a total Newbie

Hi everyone,

Like the title states I'm a total newbie. Up until Sunday I knew absolutely 0 about cnc machines, milling or anything like that. I've been searching around for the last couple of days trying to answer some of my own questions which some success but I still feel pretty in the dark at the moment. I'm hoping I can tell you guys my story/idea and you guys could point me in the right direction and give me a swift kick in the butt to get me going .

So here goes...

I have a hobby that I've gotten pretty deep into and we use little parts that are made out of 6061 aluminium. There are really only a couple of small businesses out there that produce these products and they are really backed up with orders. By a couple months in most cases. There not patented parts or anything like that. Here is an example of one of them (this one happens to be gold plated)

With that said I would like to produce some of these for myself and I see a bit of a business opportunity.

I've looked around and I found lots of home made cnc machines/mils that might be able to work but I don't know that they would hold up to production volume or if there even able to do what I want them to do. Some people said the little motors are really for plastic or wood.

So question #1. Could anyone recommend an affordable device that could make these things and wouldn't break down on me? To give you an idea on production volume I would expect to make only 2-3 pairs of those things above a day. At least initially while I'm getting my foot in the door. I'd rather not build it myself I'd rather just buy it. Also if it help the things I would be working on generally would not exceed 3" wide x 2" tall x 12-15" deep.

question #2. Is this something a newbie like me could even do or am I totally out line considering something like this.