584,860 active members*
5,239 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Lost parameters

Could someone help me out with the procedure for uploading parameters to an Fanuc OM (I was advised to carry out a RESET + DELETE at power up, which cleared the memory). Please provide as much details as you can as I am a novice. Thank you for the help!

Suggest you contact Dan Fritz at Suburban Machinery Software, Inc.

[email protected]

He's a former Fanuc engineer. I don't know how easy this is and you are going to do it RIGHT or else you will have a mess on your hands.

"Lost Parameters" - wasn't that a Mexican folk group in the mid fifties ?
    It's like doing jigsaw puzzles in the dark.
    Enjoy today's problems, for tomorrow's may be worse.

I can send you the two page Fanuc Technical bulletin in PDF for loading parameters after clearing memory, if you want to PM me.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Downloading Fanuc parameters

If your parameters are all zeroed out, you've got to at least manually enter the parameters to make the serial port work before you can download the rest of them from your PC. This assumes, of course, that you've recorded your parameters in a file on your PC as a backup.

Enter these parameters using MDI mode:

(set the "PWE" bit on the first parameter page to "1" so you can manually write the parameters) Then set:

Parameter 901, bit 6 (the 7th bit from the right). Set it to "1"
    Parameter 002, set to : 10000001
    Parameter 552, set to : 10

Then set your DNC software to send data at 4800 baud, 2 stop-bits, even parity. To send the parameters to the CNC, prepare your DNC software to send the parameter file, display the parameters on the CRT, then press the INPUT button to read the file.