585,752 active members*
4,286 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Occasional skipping of motors?

Hi all. Im new to CNC so my apologies now for any noob mistakes but this one has me stumped now.

Ive recently purchased a converted Denford (believed) micro mill, it was allegedly working fine when used by the last owner but I'm doubtful!

Ive rewired it all and neatened up the snakes nest of a wiring loom it had to isolate the issue but it is exactly the same as before so it would appear that was not the issue.

I have an after market control board (which I'm currently waiting for details on) rated at 12-36v
    24v power supply
    PK266 E2.0A motors (standard from the original machine)
    running MACH3 (allegedly licensed but will only run 500 lines of code)

I'm reasonably tech savvy but cannot fix this issue so am finding out if anyone can even suggest an avenue for me to investigate please.

When using the jog function as full speed I now have the motors / axis running smoothly, no jerkiness or sticking. BUT when running a program as the axis move at much reduced speeds it appears to be loosing its 0 positions.

If i reduce the jog rate to 5 or 10% and then index along them there is an audible "jog" in the normal smooth running of the motor and the carriage stalls for a fraction of a second loosing position.

Ive tested this by doing three things.

1: Zeroing the machine to a point and then jogging it round for ages at full speed, when told to return to zero it instantly goes back to the exact point it is supposed to. Success!

2: doing the same at 5% or 10% jog speed which results in it returning close but definitely not perfectly to the position it should be going to. each time its results are different

3: running a program and then running it again, this results in the second cut being slightly off from the first and if I do it again the result is a third set of cuts differing from the first two.