584,826 active members*
5,275 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > Propriatary AC servos into universal AC servos with an encoder swap?

Propriatary AC servos into universal AC servos with an encoder swap?

Ok, Ive tried to post photobucket pics in every way imaginable and just gave up, so sorry for the lack of visuals (tips to accomplish this very welcome)

Anyway, I have several really great AC servos laying around but unfortunately im still learning the basics (I can make steppers work in my sleep and am currently studying DC and BLDC servos). But it seems like high-end AC servos are in a world of their own. Many are proprietary and will only work with drivers they were specifically designed to work with. On top of that it seems that many dont like the step/dir signals given by most of our hobby controller software and require tweaks and mods to work with our machines...However...

Can we simplify this by replacing the encoders with a more commonly supported version like the old HEDS or the new CUI capacitive encoders? Linear would be awesome as well. The majority of these servos have 4 pin connectors powering the motors so that may help. So in theory, would we be able to simplify these unity with an encoder swap and open the door to using more general/common/ less expensive servo drives?

Many thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC02804_zpsf95775e6.jpg  

There are basically two types of brushless servo, BLDC with hall style commutation and AC with sinusoidal commutation, in general the former are easier to mix and match drives to.
    The BLDC usually have either true hall effect devices or equivalent tracks on the encoder.
    AC sinusoidal come with a few variations, but are often fitted with a resolver, which makes it a great deal harder to match up.
    In the past I have removed the proprietary encoders on Fanuc AC types and fitted them with a BLDC commutation encoder.