585,977 active members*
4,180 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Events, Product Announcements Etc > Want To Buy...Need help! > Need suggestion on a machine for my application

Need suggestion on a machine for my application

Hey everyone,

This is my first time to the forum, so be gentle. I am inexperienced in cnc machining, but I am interested in getting into it as a hobby for my shop. I am looking for a small cnc lathe / automatic bar machine / turning center that will turn 5/8" * 18" round rod in steel, aluminum, and brass (like a small ornate wooden balluster) in one step. Electrical requirements won't be an issue. I would like a relatively small foot print. I have been looking at omniturn, haas, snk prodigy,GT mini. I'm looking for the exact phrase of the machine. I don't know if what I am looking for is a cnc engine lathe, automatic bar machine, or turning center. In addition, I have seen some older machines that look like they would fit my application but the ontrols seem outdated, can they be updated?

Quote Originally Posted by Thor's Hammer View Post
    Hey everyone,

This is my first time to the forum, so be gentle.
    We are never anything else!

Your post opens up a few 'Depends on' questions?
    For one, what power do you have available and if 3phase?
    It sounds like you want to get into an automated, or at least semi-automated process?
    Older machines can be had for cheap, but again it depends on if you are confident and capable of upgrading, and allow the time required?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Hey Al,