585,670 active members*
4,299 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > LMS Solid Column Conversion Kit on Micromark Mill - Y Axis Issue - Advice Needed

LMS Solid Column Conversion Kit on Micromark Mill - Y Axis Issue - Advice Needed

No matter how I try to adjust things, I cannot get the Y axis to move across its range of travel without being sloppy at the ends and tight in the middle. If I tighten it down so there's no perceptible play at the ends, it takes at least twice as much (or maybe three times more) torque to turn the hand wheel to get the saddle through the middle 3 inches or so of its travel.

Since I'm new to milling machines, I don't know if I should accept this situation or not. The thing is, I didn't have this problem with the old base (the one that came with the Micromark) and the x axis doesn't have an issue like this, even though it has a longer travel.

The only conclusion I can come to is that the ways are too far "out-of-parallel". So I'm wondering, is there any way to fix this, or am I being too "picky", or should I send it back for exchange with another one or a refund?

Any advice/opinions would be appreciated. Thank you.

Have a read here on lapping and scraping.
    http://www.g0704.com/Shop_Info.html#dovetail
    Getting another replacement is no guarantee but do it before scraping this one.
    Hoss
    http://www.hossmachine.info - Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- http://www.g0704.com - http://www.bf20.com - http://www.g0602.com

Thanks very much for your reply Hoss.

Do you think I should ask for a replacement before I do ANYTHING, or should I try lapping it first? To put it differently, would it be (1) Ask for a replacement (2) Lapping (3) Scraping; (1) Lapping (2) Ask for a replacement (3) Scraping?