585,987 active members*
4,210 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > Subprogramming/Subroutine issue...Please help!
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    38

    Subprogramming/Subroutine issue...Please help!

    Hey guys. I hope I have the correct forum for this question.

    I have three complete and running programs. I want to combine these into one large program.

    It needs to run like this:

    Program #1
    Program #2
    Program #2
    Program #2
    Program #3

    Any ideas on how I can accomplish this without using gobs of memory? Copying and pasting the three different programs into the configuration it needs to go above does not interest me when I know there is a better, more effective solution.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated! I know that some sort of subprogram/subroutine call out could be used...just not sure of the "rules" to abide to in this case. I'm also generating the NC code with CAM software for all of the programs mentioned above, so the less modification I have to do with the post, the better.

    I have a old 4020 machine with CNC88 controller...Format 2.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    317
    01*MAIN PROGRAM
    G0G90S1200M3X0Y0E1
    1)0M98P2L1
    2)M98P3L1
    3)M98P4L1
    4)M2
    line 1 calls prog #1 once
    line 2 calls prog #2 once
    so and so.
    At the end of each sub program instead of M2, insert M99 it will go back to Prog#1 and execute the next line (program)
    At end of Prog #1 insert M2.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    38
    Hmm...I'm not sure about that one....nor even fully understand what you just said.

    My thoughts would have it go like this:

    L100
    <Insert Program #1 here>
    M17
    L200
    <Insert Program #2 here>
    M17
    L300
    <Insert Program #3 here>
    M17
    M30

    Then proceed with...

    L101
    L203
    L301
    M99

    Is this correct thinking??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    53
    Both are correct. The first example is format 2, and the second example is format 1. The first example will run in format 1 or 2, but I'm not so sure about example 2 runinnig in format 2.
    Whew! That was alot of explaining. I need more coffee!
    Jim

Similar Threads

  1. Subprogramming
    By gordo.hogan in forum FeatureCAM CAD/CAM
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2012, 02:55 PM
  2. Subprogramming with Acramatic 2100
    By dmitriy in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-31-2011, 09:25 AM
  3. fanuc subprogramming
    By warren01 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-25-2010, 01:07 AM
  4. Subprogramming
    By hitachi in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-17-2006, 03:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •