585,973 active members*
3,971 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Gecko G540 mach3 setup motors not turning

Gecko G540 mach3 setup motors not turning

hello I am a CNC newbie, and i just converted or in the process of converting my HF44991 milling machine to CNC. I got the CNCrouterparts 3 axis kit.

i wired everything according to the instructions i found on their website and everywhere else. i was using my laptop because it worked for the xylotec driver which burned out. so i got a gecko g540 with mach3.
    anyways i bought a desktop computer so i can put the parallel port to EPP and downloaded the xml file from the gecko website. still no luck. i can hear the motors bit no movement. my parallel cable is the correct one its a straight pin to pin db25 cable. i think my configuration is wrong. wheneveri try to jog the motors there is no movement.

can someone send me screen shots of their configuration or walk me through step by step ? i need help

CNC router parts also has XML's.
    Mach 3 XML Files | CNCRouterParts

If you are getting no movement with jog, are the DRO's moving?
    Lee

by the DROS you mean the xyz numbers on the screen yes, the numbers are moving but no motor movement

and i already tried to use the xml files on cncrouterpartds, no luck.

is there a part i missed , i have the G540, the motors the motor cables and the parallel cable. the cables should be fine the are all brand new

https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphot...24939852_o.jpg

this a picture of my setup

Hi Sam. Welcome to the Zone!