585,932 active members*
3,684 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > 180V DC Motor Speed control Neco speed controller card - PLEASE HELP

180V DC Motor Speed control Neco speed controller card - PLEASE HELP

I'm a teacher at secondary school who has found a little used CNC lathe in a stock room, it's an 1984 conect 121 that used to run on a BBC. I've been in contact with CNC4you who will be able to supply and talk me through setting up the stepper motors. They can't help me with the spindle motor control. I have been inside the old control box that was connected to the BBC and found a Neco DC motor control PCB. It's 240Vac in and 180V DC out how ever I have little/no idea how to use this card. Any help would be excellent. Please see attached pic.....

Attachment 183012
    Attachment 183014

It appears to be a simple SCR type controller for a DC brushed motor, do you still have the motor? otherwise one of the TreadMill motors sold on ebay should work.
    The power and armature connection is shown, the only others are T10,11,12 which would either have a 5k/10k pot connected across it or as it shows being used in the picture with just 11 & 12 which is a analogue 0-10vdc input, if using Mach or similar controller, you can obtain a BOB which converts the PWM signal from Mach to an analogue signal for T11/12.
    The white black T8 could be an enable?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.