585,877 active members*
3,722 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

HAAS TL-2 Chuck

I am a new machinist who recently had my first crash, i don't know how else to put it but the part came out of the chuck and damaged part of the chuck. This was last friday 5/3/2013, and i had looked at the chuck, and jaws and found no series damage, a little bit of the ss i was cutting got stuck to a jaw, but it was still on center. Then today 5/7/2013 the chuck had release a second part and did some more damage. I am starting to think that the jaws or the scroll system inside the chuck might be bad. How would i know? Also where would a good place to buy jaws for a ten inch chuck?

More info is needed.

I see you are cutting Stainless, but what size parts, how far does it stick out, but what depth of cut, what RPM (too high=will open jaws)(too low would cause the part to be pulled from the jaws), steel jaws or aluminum soft jaws, how deep is the part into the jaws, what tool.

Steel jaws and soft jaws are both available on eBay and many tooling dealers.
    Two Haas VF-2's, Haas HA5C, Haas HRT-9, Hardinge CHNC 1, Bother HS-300 Wire EDM, BobCAD V23, BobCAD V28

Quote Originally Posted by Machineit View Post
    More info is needed.

I see you are cutting Stainless, but what size parts, how far does it stick out, but what depth of cut, what RPM (too high=will open jaws)(too low would cause the part to be pulled from the jaws), steel jaws or aluminum soft jaws, how deep is the part into the jaws, what tool.

Steel jaws and soft jaws are both available on eBay and many tooling dealers.
    All excellent points

Quote Originally Posted by Cody.Chandler View Post