584,862 active members*
5,508 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Cool New 770 owner!

Hello,

Just purchased a new 770, should arrive Friday. :wave: Can't wait to get a pile of chips on the floor!

I purchased the machine for my hobby business; non-ferrous jewelry, wood, plastic, and engraving. I'm in Durham, North Carolina and would be happy to meet other local makers.

I joined cnczone about 4 years ago and have been reading continuously ever since - but this is my first post! Look forward to discussing techniques with the many experienced members I've come to know.

--Bryan

Welcome to the club, Bryan! I'm sure you'll love it.

I've been enjoying my 770 for 2 years now, I'm sure you'll love yours!

I've had mine since December. I absolutely love this machine. It's already paid for a large portion of itself. I couldn't be any happier with it.

I kind of wish I had the room for the 1100, but I really like having the 10K spindle.

Wade

Bryan, you will love it. I purchased my machine a few months ago. It is hard not to spend all your money and time outfitting your new toy with all of the latest end mills and attachments! Please post a few pics of your new baby when you get a chance.

Have a great time,
    Leigh

Bryan

I'll be getting a used one, hopefully next week. Mine is the bigger (slower) 1100. I'm not too far from you, down in Ramseur, Randolph county.

Thanks for the warm welcome!

I'm contemplating tooling & endmills right now. I was thinking about using ER collets for everything, and the off-brand TTS ER chucks are a good deal, 10 or 20 of them should be plenty for my needs.

But ER20, or ER16? The ER16s max out at 3/8" which is the max recommended for the 770 anyway, and I've read several threads suggesting the use of ER16 to "get in a bit closer" to the work.

But they're basically the same price as the ER20s and no one is offering ATC compatable off-brand ER16s (I don't have an ATC, but may eventually add one).