585,679 active members*
5,053 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need Help Deciding On DIY CNC Project.

Hi,

I am looking for a kit, or plans for a DIY CNC project, however there are many out there and I am wondering what peoples experiences are like for a few of them.
    I am also in Australia, so often shipping on kits from OS will kill the price on a lot of parts that I can buy.

Minimum Requirements:
    -1200mmx2400mm [4'x8'] X by Y
    -150mm of Z travel [6'']

The machine will be used for wood cutting for the most part, with maybe some plexi and aluminium cutting/engraving.

Budget:
    I am a student, and on a budget, so ideally I would like to go about it as cheaply as possible. I can get parts machined locally if that helps with the overall cost of things.

-$3000 is the amount that I would like to keep it under.

Other Considerations:
    -The ability to add a 4th axis later down the track would be excellent, but isn't necessary. If it were possible to add on later, my z travel would have to be much larger.
    I would probably need at least a part of 500mm [5/3'] diameter to be able to fit.
    How feasible is this, and will I lose precision by having a larger z travel? How much of an issue will this be?

I know there are a few kits that are made from CNC cut ply board. I am concerned slightly that such designs over time will begin to warp/lose accuracy. Is this a possibility, or should I not worry about it?

Dust extraction and the like is not to come under the budget. Only things directly integrated into the router are to be taken as a part of it [ie stepper motors, spindle, bits, suction area to hold work down, etc]

If there are any other bits of information that people need to know, feel free to ask.

Thanks,

Ryan

Quote Originally Posted by ryzaa View Post
    Hi,

I am looking for a kit, or plans for a DIY CNC project, however there are many out there and I am wondering what peoples experiences are like for a few of them.