585,951 active members*
3,987 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > SprutCAM > Screen goes blank?

Screen goes blank?

I have a windows 7 laptop with Sprutcam on it, bear in mind I am still learning. Anyway I have a drawing of a G Clamp that i want to 2d contour, I have no problem importing the drawing, putting a box around it,creating the operation and filling out the parameters this all seems to work ok. However when I click run the box gets ticked and the G Clamp disappears off the screen- never to return. At one stage tonight I got the message "Catastrophic Failure" so I shut down and restarted, but I still can't get any further! Any ideas?
    Will

Not sure if this is the same problem you are having but look at the "Visualizations" tab in the system setup dialog.
    Is "Use Fast Painting Mode" got a check mark in the box? If it does, remove the check mark and restart SC and see if that helps.

It may be your video card on the laptop as well. If you need to un-check "Use Fast Painting Mode" and that doesn't work try putting a check mark in the box for "Use Simple Open GL Objects Only" and restart SC and see if that helps.

Also, sometimes if you are doing a lot of simulations, and re-running and re-setting the ops in one session SC will give you a Catastrophic Failure. It helps to save and close SC then re-open before you get the error, seems to help refresh memory or something.
    HTH
    Gerry

Attachment 184788
    Currently using SC7 Build 1.6 Rev. 64105

Thanks Gerry that worked! Now I just have to work the rest out, I cant seem to select the curves to 2d contour, would that have something to do with using an IGES file instead of a DXF?
    Will

Quote Originally Posted by wbleeker View Post
    Thanks Gerry that worked! Now I just have to work the rest out, I cant seem to select the curves to 2d contour, would that have something to do with using an IGES file instead of a DXF?
    Will
    Hi Will,