585,973 active members*
4,198 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > WANT TO BUILD MILL. LOOKING FOR SUGGESTIONS

WANT TO BUILD MILL. LOOKING FOR SUGGESTIONS

I havent quite figured out the whole forums thing so please point me in the right direction if this is in the wrong place.

Im looking to build what I believe is a 3-axis mill for milling aluminum to a depth of 2-3 inches max on most pieces possibly a bit more. I am wanting to use this strictly for gunsmithing and making molds for composites. Im a certified composite technician and I understand the the composites part of what im wanting to do but want some questions answered that would save me some time from having to scour the internet for hours. I know everyone has their opinions but im asking more for facts!!! Here goes!!!

Most important question... Is it worth it? Is it worth building a mill? Can I get the same accuracy on a homemade mill as I would from one purchased?

Frame- If I wanted the most affordable yet durable frame what material would I use?

Spindle Motor- My goal is to cut Aluminum for composite molds and gunsmithing. What are the specs that I will need in a motor to get the power required to cut aluminum and to a depth of 2-3"

Accuracy- Im restating this because both composites and gunsmithing require accuracy, as far as I know. Is it possible to get accuracy to ±.001" for gunsmithing with homemade CNC's

I know there are many other aspects to consider but I wanted to start with the end goal in mind. I believe these are some of the more important factors beyond other aspects.

My goal is to do this on a budget. So if it can be done I'm hoping to do it! Im shooting for a budget of <$1500. I know many people arent fans of Chinese products but I've been using them my whole adult life and wouldnt mind using their products for a second!